We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day in Nelson”
Review of Bay Tours Nelson

Bay Tours Nelson
Ranked #1 of 14 Food & Drink in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora / Hi, Experience all the flavours of Nelson. Enjoy wine, art,scenic, golf and Maori tours with the enthusiastic and experienced Bay Tours Team. Let us give you the 'Perfect day out!'
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely day in Nelson”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Owen was an amazing and caring tour guide who took us to 5 vineyards and a brewery. We had good size pours from a wide selection of local favorites. It was a wonderful overall experience and I feel like I was able to truly step into learning about the wines of New Zealand!l

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exnavy76, Owner at Bay Tours Nelson, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
It was wonderful to have you along for the day :-) Thank you so much for taking time to send us this lovely review. We REALLY appreciate people doing this. Glad to hear you have arrived home safe and sound. Back to work I guess!
If you are ever back in Nelson do call us and let us know :-)
Have a super 2014! :-)
Kia ora
Owen and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    14
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thank you so much Owen and Sue”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Twin Regions Tour
That was the best Wine Tour we have ever done! It puts the piddly ones on Waiheke to shame, to shame!
Owen so knowledgable and easy to get a long with, so happy and so accomodating.
The tasting places and local artisans we were taken to were so passionate about their work and just so very very happy to share it with you.

Really did put Nelson on the map for us and will always have a soft spot for it.

Thanks again

John and Nigel

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jedimastafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exnavy76, Owner at Bay Tours Nelson, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Kia ora Guys.
Glad you enjoyed the day out with Bay Tours Nelson! Really appreciate you taking the time out to make a review John. Nelson sure has some wonderful wineries and craftspeople and we enjoy showing them to our guests. Have a super 2014 guys. All the very best.
Cheers / Mauri ora!
Owen and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't think about it, book it!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Myself, husband and relations from the UK took a half day wine tour with Owen. What a delightful experience! Owen could not have done more for us. It was a truly wonderful afternoon. As the only kiwi on board (along with Owen of course) I was very proud of the generous kiwi spirit. Book jjs tours now. Thanks again Owen!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeeTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exnavy76, Owner at Bay Tours Nelson, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Kia ora / Hi Tracey.
Kapai! Thanks so much. Really appreciate the lovely comments and it "was a pleasure" to take all the whanau / family out for the afternoon. Hope the Fish and Chips for dinner were great :-) We try hard to help make the day special and some times it means doing the little extra things that take a little more time but just make the day a little more special for those involved. Have a super 2014 and best wishes to all the whanau / family :-) Cheers / Mauri ora Owen and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good Wine Trip”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We took an afternoon wine tour with Kyle. An excellent guide and a good trip. Picked up on time and an informative tour of four wine growers. Would recommend this firm.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen P, Owner at Bay Tours Nelson, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Kia ora / Hi Brent.
Thanks mate. Will pass your comments on to Kyall. Glad you enjoyed your day out with Bay Tours Nelson and trust you had a safe trip back home.
Really appreciate you taking the time out to make a review.
Have a super 2014.
Let us know if you are ever back this way or you have friends visiting.
Cheers and best
Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went on the best of both worlds tour which had two wineries and two breweries. The first stop was at lighthouse brewery and this was both entertaining and enjoyable. The next two stops were wineries, Seifrieds and Rimu Grove, both very different but excellent and lunch at Seifrieds was delicious. The last stop of the day was Mc Cashins brewery and this was the one we were most looking forward to but unfortunately the biggest disappointment. Our tour guide was in charge of the tasting rather than the staff which is a shame as we would have loved some more information about each beer, as it was twice i had to ask what it was that we were drinking. Overall a good day, just a shame that it didn't finish on a high note. We have been on other tours with Bay Tours and will go again, just maybe not this one.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen P, Owner at Bay Tours Nelson, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Kia ora / Hi Fiona.
Really appreciate the time you have taken to send us your thoughts and suggestions regarding your recent tour. Thanks a lot :-)
We certainly will follow up in regards to the tasting session you had with Roy at your last stop. They are usually so informative and welcoming.
Rimu Grove and Seifrieds are wonderful wineries and so glad you enjoyed them.
Hope the rest of your holiday was awesome and you had a safe trip home.
Have a super 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Tours Nelson also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Bay Tours Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing