We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful & charming hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Palace Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Labuan Bajo, Indonesia
1 review
“Wonderful & charming hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Came on a holiday with my family and stayed for a year in this unforgettable place. The hostel is composed of 3-4 houses surrounded by a well maintained garden in the town centre. It is old and full of charm always a great crowd of people. rooms are decorated with taste, it's a unique place you will surely have a hard time leaving.
No bunk beds! ;-)
Great breakfast offered every morning fresh from the bakery and 5 o'clock goodies provided by Dave (the owner). Dave is very helpful and will show you around if you need.
Don't miss it! you won't find anything like this!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Marlin_Komodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    10
    9
    7
    7
See reviews for
3
22
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hostel is pretty central and the staff are friendly and helpful. I was picked up at the bus station and dropped off there as well, so I really appreciate the kindness of the staff. The house is old and Victorian styled. They also provide you free breakfast and pastries in the afternoon and some WIFI.
Now that I told you about the good things, I should also say that the place is old and a little run down. They could use some modernizing. The bathrooms weren't very clean and the beds a little too old for my liking. The good part is that there are no bunks.
I also don't really enjoy hostels being full of permanent guests, because the rooms get crazy messy and you don't have space to stay for a night or a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giulistuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I couldn't have explained all that you get here any better then the previous couple people. It's an amazing place, which draws in great people, has friendly and knowledgeable staff like Robin and Kana who also run and participate in the awesome open mic nights at the Vic every Monday night (not to mention they're always able to fill you in on where the great tramps are nearby). Most of the cleaners are quite friendly and open to filling you in on what you can get up to around Nelson. The Palace is so unique, I enjoyed my stay there more than any where else in New Zealand. My stay went from what I thought would be a few weeks, to becoming my home and place of residence for 4 months.

Highly recommended if you are keen to get out of the huge, plain and boring hostels, and if you're open to spending time actually getting to know the other people staying there. For a brilliant, genuine experience, this is the place to check out! :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

What a grand old lady this was to stay in! A quirky backpackers full of faded elegance! Full of chandeliers,oriental carpets and ? Original oil paintings: complete with beanie-hatted idol in the garden.A place with real personality.OK the bathrooms weren't the most modern,but very clean.Car parks if you need them . Free breakfast of beautiful toast and cereal.Very near to the middle of Nelson and very friendly and helpful staff. A most enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hostel really does live up to its name. From the top of the hill where it’s situated you can check out the whole of Nelson . I’ve never stayed anywhere quite like it, and never been more sad to leave a place. The people it seems to attract and the staff who work there really are a great crowd.

There’s no scramble up to the top bunk every night, as there are no bunk beds, and every ornate room has its own unique charm. The biggest dorm rooms are only 5 beds, perfect size to get to know your roomies and make some great friends without feeling like a sardine crammed into a tin can! The laid back atmosphere radiates throughout the hostel and seems to be a permanent fixture.

It’s very clean and always tidy, but not in a sterile way, it’s lived in, the way it should be. The place has character by the bucket load. It’s a fabulous gem, an antique, and the décor reflects this perfectly, from the quirky paintings on the walls to the truly unique bathrooms which always seem to be sparkling.

There’s free breakfast in the mornings and bakery in the afternoon. You get wifi too and access to a hot tub, there’s not a lot more you need.

The staff are so helpful and really are a resource for information that you rarely find in bigger hostels. Talk to them about things to do, book activities through them, or just chit chat and before you know it you’ll have a whole new family. You’ll never walk through the door and not feel welcome straight away, like you’re a long lost friend or family member coming home. It’s not the type of hostel where you’re a nameless, faceless customer! You’re a guest, in the best hostel in New Zealand. I would have stayed forever if I could!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

and great staff too! Lovely old Victorian villa with ROOMS & real beds! Free breakfast - also afternoon tea n cake (if ur around then) - V central with easy access to everything - parking etc . Loved the old iron bedstead (very like my own at home!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The owner picked us up from the bus station. It is located at the hilltop, victorian style building. Overall the hostel is just too dated and lack of maintenance, a lot of stuffs are old and torn, like our bedsheet and blanket, they should do something about it. We met an extremely lovely and helpful staff which I really appreciate her help and another one is extremely rude staff that totally pissed me off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
0.1 mi away
YHA Nelson by Accents
YHA Nelson by Accents
#15 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bug Backpackers
The Bug Backpackers
#5 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Backpackers

Property: The Palace Backpackers
Address: 114 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check in as a traveller and leave as a friend. Help yourself to our tea and real coffee and tuck into a complimentary breakfast each morning. Sit on the deck and gaze at the sea or Centre of New Zealand whilst strumming one of our guitars or reading a book from our international book exchange. Play a tune on the piano in the music room. Lie back and swing in one of our hammocks. Access our free WiFi and check your emails in our spacious lounge. Enjoy hot pressured showers in our delightful colourful bathrooms. Enjoy socialising at the BBQ area with new friends. Make friends with one of our hostel cats. Enjoy a good night's sleep in one of our spacious dorms or doubles (no bunks!). A place to relax and a base to explore one of New Zealand's most interesting cities, rich in art and culture, which enjoys 2500 hours of sunshine per year. Explore the Abel Tasman, Kahurangi and Nelson Lakes National Parks, right on our doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing