We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”

FORD'S Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #8 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: European, Soups, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just happened to pass by on a Friday evening and they managed to find us a table. The food was good and plentiful (no room for dessert after 2 courses). The service was good too which was surprising as the waiter only looked to be about 12 years old. Good selection of local wines too.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordnelson, Owner at FORD'S Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
So pleased you had a good experience at FORD'S and just to let you know Cameron FORD served you (17 1/2 yrs) - one of the Ford faces around. He's been a committed waiter since we opened in 2010 so thanks for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    228
    74
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serious competition...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Every time we visit FORD'S, it never seizes to impress us. Recently, we popped over for a quick bite before a movie. Although it was busy (a great sign during a Nelson winter!) our meals arrived very promptly and were delicious, innovative, full of flavour and perfectly cooked. Staff were great and we were made feel very welcome as we decided to eat our meal at the bar. Thank you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I think that Ford's has become a great little 'gem' for Nelson. We had a party there recently and having a group in a restaurant can be very difficult, but they offered us a good choice, a great price and delivered. The upstairs area provided us with a private space, (tough for the servers, but they were great). The food was very good and I would definitely book another party or small group here. The manager on duty was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JESTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal with a group of friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good food and the restaurant coped well with a group of us. Also one of our favourite coffee escape spots (we're locals)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelbournev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Certainly one of the best restaurants in Nelson.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went as a group, specifically to host an Australian tourism sales manager who travels extensively in the line of his business. We had an absolutely fun filled evening with the service and food to match the occassion. The staff were very friendly but not in your face. They presented the meal in a very professional manner and the quality of the food was superb. An excellent variety with deserts that simply could not be resisted. Overall, the rating I would give this restaraunt would be 9/10 and we dine out extensively. Certainly right up there and highly recommended when in Nelson.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank nzk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FORD'S Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to FORD'S Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing