We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Nelson Restaurant”
Review of The Monaco Kitchen

The Monaco Kitchen
Ranked #38 of 179 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great Nelson Restaurant”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We visited this restaurant on Friday night. The food was excellent and it was great to see free range pork on the menu. We had entrée, mains and shared a dessert. All were cooked and presented beautifully. Very friendly and attentive staff. We very much enjoyed our evening and will definitely be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with your fellow travellers, I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    75
    29
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great little find”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

so often, hotel restaurants ar every generic (read boring). the food from this place was outstanding. innovative and the service was world class. the decor is a bit bland as it funtions as breakfast place for hotel guests. Anyone living in nelson - this is a recommended outing

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigsmithdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank very much for your wonderful comments on our tripadvisor page. Unfortunately you are right in saying that some hotel restaurants are seen as boring, however I am really pleased to see that you gave the Orangerie a chance to prove that this is not always the case. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Flavour, music and style”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This restaurant is a gem. Great food, great decor, great music, great waiting staff. Do not expect huge portions or cheap prices. The food is extremely flavoursome and comes in "French style portions" (i.e. not huge). Working your way through the courses, you will be thoroughly satisfied with the end result. For starters I had calamari (tender and with just the right additions on the plate) and my husband had crusted beef which had the most wonderful reduced "gravy" on the side. For mains I chose lamb cutlets and my husband pork. Both mains were full of flavour and really delicious. We topped the evening off with a trio of desserts (changes daily). We had mini lamingtons, brulee and the most divine chocolate torte. Beautiful evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent dining experience at the Orangerie Restaurant. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal as well as the décor, music and staff. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic family meal”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We dined at the Orangerie on Sunday night with my in-laws and treated them to dinner as we were staying in-house; we were a party of four. We had excellent and attentive service from our waiting staff with my father-in-law getting on particularly well with Manna, our waiter.

We had mains and dessert and enjoyed the beef fillet (which the women had) and the fish of the day (which the men had). Both women commented on the beef being the best they had ever had! I had a taste and it was melt in the mouth--excellent. The fish of the day was pan-fried snapper, which both men enjoyed. For dessert the women shared the trio of desserts particularly enjoying the panna cotta offering. The men had apple tart and Banana and cinnamon beignets; the vanilla Anglais was just right and complemented the more doughy beignets well.

As a group we really enjoyed ourselves and commented afterwards that we will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonChris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your lovely experience at the Orangerie Restaurant, I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience and that you all enjoyed your meals so much. I will be sure to pass your very lovely comments onto our head chef, I am sure he will be very pleased to hear that you thought the beef was the best you have ever had. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eating at the Orangerie, Nelson”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The last time we visited here was with a group of friends for high tea on Mothers' day and they made it very special. We all enjoyed ourselves. The decor of the place is superior. Prior to this we had been there for a dinner party. The meals are a bit more expensive but the food is delisious. Better with a big party as sometime it seems to take a while to get the meal but perhaps that is because they do such a good job.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 450Eileen450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments with your fellow travellers. I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed a few different meals with us at the Orangerie Restaurant and that you like the décor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your constructive feedback about the time you had to wait for your meal so that we can address this and prevent it from happening again in the future. Thanks again for your comments.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Monaco Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Monaco Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing