We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient stop”
Review of A Woodsy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Woodsy House
Ranked #27 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2012

On our arrival at Woodsy house we had a lovely welcome with tea & home made cake which was much appreciated. We also received plenty of advice about what to see & do in the Nelson area.We did not take advantage of the breakfast provided as we were happy to do our own e.g toast which we managed in the guests lounge but I got the impression that we were in the minority. Our room was furnished with olde worlde furniture in keeping with the rest of the house. It was really handy having free internet access. Overall rating of the property was fairly good.

Room Tip: Although we stayed in the room downstairs, we were shown a room upstairs before we left which had gr...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for A Woodsy House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here and really loved the character of the place which was a traditional historic wooden house in a charming elevated position about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Nelson (which is also charming). Also great location for nice river walks and walks to the centre of NZ.
We stayed in Topaz room which was large and comfortable with nice wooden furniture and tea and coffee making facilities. We had our own bathroom with a large claw foot bath and double shower which was across the landing from our room but gowns are provided for the night time visits!
The constant noise of the crickets does take some getting used to but fortunately it is just during the day and not a problem at night. Also worth using insect repellent as sand flies are a pain here.
The skylight in the room does flood the room in the morning so don't expect too much of a lay in.
The breakfast was really lovely with fruit, yoghurt and home made grenola and home made bread and muffins (Yum).
Shane was a wealth of information and gave us lots of ideas of what to see and do locally.
There was a small fridge that we were able to use and wired internet was available for limited time. Free wifi and laundry facilities would have been good.
We were also picked up from town and dropped back, which was really useful as we were travelling on intercity bus.
This is a great place to stay in Nelson for the money and would recommend it.
Tip try the sprig and fern pub just down the road great beers and can use the great take-away next door and eat in the pub. Also stefannoes pizzas in town are excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

This was the most wonderfully, relaxing and indulgent break I've experience in years. The location and house could not have been more exquisite.....the owners know how to cater to all ages and desires; this was a slice of pure heaven and my partner and I wanted for nothing. It was just what we were looking for - peace, beauty and a place to recharge our batteries after a long flight. The breakfasts were spectacular and the overall service second to none. I would highly recommend booking in advance before this gem of place becomes too popular.... By the way, we stayed in the Crystal Room which boasted a private bathroom for our soul use. The people who wrote the last review must have got their hotels mixed up... the fresh scent of lavender oil and beautiful new bed linen and bath robes added a touch of sheer indulgence and made our stay even more wonderful. I know this will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony88, Owner at A Woodsy House, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Nannette, Thank you for your very glowing review. Your the second couple from London to come straight here to our Nelson abode this year and after disappearing into your room for 15 hours we were delighted when you finally emerged after such a long sleep and really enjoyed your vivacious company , interesting conversation and great sense of humour for three days . Crystal is actually our smallest room but with its huge comfortable super king bed maybe we will re name it to the" jet lag room"!!! Hope the rest of your trip and repose from your very full lives in London fill you with new inspiration. Do pop in for a coffee and spa if your coming back this way on your from Queenstown and west coast. it would be lovely to hear of all your adventures. Selene and Shane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This really was a gem of a find! I was so pleased to arrive here off a long haul flight, so peaceful, both the house and the setting. The house itself is a beautiful property with lovely views. We stayed in the Crystal Room which was lovely, beautifully presented next to a private entrance to the house. The breakfast was also fantastic and I was particularly impressed that the generous hosts were able to cater for my gluten-free diet so ably with gluten-free cereal and bread. My friend enjoyed homemade granola. We enjoyed the peace and calm, we definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannaejuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a small family run place with three rooms. It is situated near lots of trees – hence the name a woodsy house.” As I can’t manage stairs very well, we stayed in the ground floor Crystal room. It was not ensuite but had a bathroom nearby which was for our exclusive use and also a lovely sitting room. The bedroom had a super king size bed. We had our own entrance to come in and out.

The hosts Selena and Paul are utterly delightful and helpful. Selena is a great cook and makes a wonderful breakfasts– home-made muesli, bread and muffins.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice cup of tea and some great home-made carrot cake.

Just to show how helpful our hosts were, we didn’t realise that for new years Eve we should booked a restaurant some days beforehand and everything good was booked. When Selena and Paul heard they asked the restaurant where they were eating if they could squeeze an extra two people onto their table, which unfortunately they couldn’t. Then Selena had a brainwave and contacted a highly rated hotel restaurant whose chef she knew and they fitted us in and we had a lovely meal, rather than take-away fish and chips that we thought we were going to have! Thank you so much Selena and Paul. We certainly could have spent a lot more time with them.

If you like informality, and great hosts this is the place for you. My husband and myself were surprised at the negative review someone has just given this place. If you want formality you should stay at a traditional hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Unfortunately I have to give this place a negative review. It takes a little while to get used to the room, of which our initial impression was that it was rather creepy looking. It had a damp smell to it and the towels, duvet, and bathrobes were so old and faded I couldn't tell if they had been properly washed or not. We assumed a "private bathroom" meant an ensuite bathroom when in actual fact we had to pass through the shared corridor to enter it.

Surprisingly the owners will not provide you a key even when asked. They assured me it was safe and nothing has happened but I definitely prefer to keep my door locked when out or sleeping for my own peace of mind.

Locationwise it's not far from the town centre, the owners are most thoughtful, friendly, accommodating, and eager to help. I wish I could give it a more positive review, and probably would have if only the room got an upgrade and a little redecoration. If that happens, I'd be keen to give this place another go.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but the Crystal room does not have an ensuite bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony88, Owner at A Woodsy House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2012

We are deeply dismayed and saddened when we discovered this review.We take great pride and pleasure from satisfied and happy guests.and believed our website to be pretty accurate in its pictures and descriptions of individual rooms. We howvever had no idea of the level of discontent as these guests did not accept our hospitality of coffee home made cake, wine or delicious home baked breakfast nor did they use the guest sitting room although it rained all day non stop. We like to respect guest privacy. However the criticisms they listed are factually inaccurate. There is underfloor heating and a new rich wool carpet. The duvet and bathrobes which they said were old and faded were both less that 6 weeks old, and there is ceritanly no mildew in the room. Rooms are cleaned daily with organic lavender essential oils . Our website clearly states it has private bathroom and not an ensuite..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stunning victorian house overlooking nelson. Warm cakes and coffee was served when we arrived and the hosts were a delight, extremely helpful. Do not miss the breakfast which was simply delicious! The takeaway at Milton is a must as well. Sit by the garden to watch the sunset. If you love cats, you will adore theirs. She snuggles up to u. Did not want to leave the place and will definitely be back !

Room Tip: we had the Topez room which is the biggest!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anndrea21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
673 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Woodsy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Woodsy House

Address: 121 Grove Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $76 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Woodsy House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your A Woodsy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing