We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant historic home in gorgeous setting with fabulous view”
Review of Fellworth House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fellworth House
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended if you don't mind sharing facilities. There are 2 large bathrooms, recently renovated, with high ceilings, elegant chandelier, separate shower, tub & toilet. There is also an extra toilet room available for guests in the 9 bedrooms so there is no problem sharing. The kitchen is nicely appointed with lots of pantry space & modern Bosch appliances. Bedrooms range from budget to palatial depending on your price range. The view of the bay is fantastic. Sit out on the balcony with a bottle of local Sauvignon blanc, some NZ cheese & enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful colonial house in peaceful surroundings. Very good location not far from Nelson centre. Apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was serviceable and very good value for money. Strongly recommend for everyone. Love this place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The house is lovely and it is an experience to stay in such a grand place. We booked online and paid $140. for a queen room, it was peak season but it was way too much for what it was. There is no reception, just our name on a board with which room we were in, there was a sign that stated to ring for assistance but since it is a Dentist reception area, we didnt know to ring it so we just winged our way, found our room, kitchen, shared bathrooms, where to find a mug, no info in rooms to say what was available. Half a cake of little guest size soap in shower with no more to be seen. No one on reception when we left at 9.30, all a bit odd really. But nice bedding and clean enough, but more like an up market hostel.

Room Tip: The king room at the front has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here as a couple in Feb 2011. This place is great, it even has 2 giant bath tubs. So much character, like staying in a mansion. Free use of internet (desktop PC) and WiFi. You will not regret staying here, it was fit for a king. Room checkout time was 11a.m.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No se hospeden en la suite principal si son de sueno liviano (esta conectada al living/comedor y se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Irmi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.5 mi away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
17 reviews
0.8 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
713 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
3.2 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 42 in Nelson
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fellworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fellworth House

Address: 193 Milton Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Golden Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $47 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fellworth House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fellworth House is an accommodation venue situated on the lower hills above Nelson City. This elegant two-storey wooden house is built in the ornate Victorian Italianate style, featuring exceptional architecture, gleaming native timber, and antique furniture while still offering homely bedrooms and guest areas that flow immaculately to beautiful balcony and veranda views out to the sedate beauty of the Nelson city, sea and sunsets.Fellworth House is located just 100 metres from the geographical “Centre of New Zealand” landmark and its conservational walking tracks are some of the best ways to see beautiful landscapes and explore some of the vast wilderness of Nelson. Fellworth House is situated an easy 10 minute walk to the shops, cafes, bars, restaurants, galleries and theatres of the Nelson City centre and the famous Saturday Nelson Market, Nelson Cathedral and Nelson Provincial Museum.In true Nelson style there is no reception and the procedure is kept casual and simple with a notice at the front door reception area directing you to your room number upstairs. The grand old wooden staircase will lead you to all our 2nd floor rooms, kitchen and living areas. All equipment in our modern kitchen, dining and lounge areas are available for use by our guests.We offer a fully equipped kitchen with free coffee and tea, free laundry facilities, complimentary on-site wireless internet access, free local phone calls, satellite TV lounge and dining room with pot-belly style fireplace.Built in 1876 Fellworth House welcomes both locals and visitors from all over the world to experience a slice of colonial history in this uniquely situated Nelson accommodation and function facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fellworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing