We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almond House Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I was just there two weeks ago. The place is super clean and the reception lady was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a cozy b&b to stay in Neslon, this is definitely the place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivichichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Almond House Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Almond House is the place to stay in Nelson. It is so peaceful with beautiful rooms and facilities. The owner and staff were amazing. The outdoor courtyard is a great place to relax in the hammocks or sit in front of the fire. Stay here, you'll love it! Thanks from Dan and Imogen

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Really awesome place, I absolutely recommend it. Very friendly and professional owners, very quiet, calm neighbourhood, clean, for every age, close to city centre. Free Internet and Wifi. I got very good information by e-mail from Fiona about activities before I arrived. Everything perfect! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I keep going back here because it's everything I need when staying in Nelson. No big bus groups, good kitchens, clean rooms and a relaxed vibe. Only a short walk to town and very close to an organics shop AND a fish and chip shop. The owners are lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goatwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My partner and I moved to Almond House for a few days after a bad experience at another hostel in town, and sooo glad we did. Fiona and the team are so friendly and helpful and literally made the place feel like a home away from home - we (and the diverse range of other guests staying) were treated like adults, not backpackers, and this resulted in accommodation that guests collectively looked after, and made an effort to get to know one another. No signs saying 'please wash, dry and put away your dishes', 'please don't take long showers', 'please only use the computer for 20mins at a time'... and surprisingly, they weren't needed!

Heaps of amenities, two good sized kitchens and lovely new showers and toilets. The double rooms were perfect size with proper towels and linen AND had somewhere to hang clothes! Never seen this is a backpackers before!!

Great location, free bikes, awesome hosts, fabulous facilities... can't wait to come back! If ever I have my own backpackers one day, I can only hope it'll be something like this. Thanks for a really lovely stay :)

Room Tip: Doubles outside are a bit more private
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imogenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

the Almond Hostel is one of the best Hostels I ever stayed. The Family and stuff was very friendly, helpful and every time cheerful. I was there for 18 days and very sad, when I had to leave this comfortable place. I appreciate the clean and comfortable rooms, enough space to bake my scones in the well equiped kitchen. Quiete environment but all places of interest in walking distance... thank you very much Fiona, Paul and kids making my stay so enjoyable...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As an 'older' backpacker, this was an incredibly comfortable, enjoyable experience. Even before I arrived, Fiona hinted I might not be the only 'older' visitor and that proved to be correct. No matter, the young kids were awesome and so friendly. Fiona and Paul have made Almond House into a home away from home, comfortable rooms, clean ablutions and kitchens and lovely gardens. The FREE use of a bike for the whole day was greatly appreciated and the close proximity to shopping, supermarkets, restaurants make it the perfect location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#9 of 41 in Nelson
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond House Backpackers

Address: 63 Grove Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $30 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As world travellers ourselves we know what makes a great stay - whatever the season. Almond House summers are all about sunny garden bbqs and hammocks while in winter our log fire gatherings are the place to be. All year round you can go exploring on our bikes or yours (we're super cyclist friendly!), plan your next adventure (we'll help!), unwind with a book, stay connected with free internet and wifi, or - simply throw down your bags and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Almond House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing