We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough cooks in the kitchen”
Review of Mint Dining Room

Mint Dining Room
Ranked #58 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $24 - $27
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: From an iconic 19th century cottage within the quiet city fringe of Nelson, with a maximum seating of just 28, it has garnered notoriety with discerning diners since quietly opening towards the end of 2009. With a passion for fine food, using only the freshest of local ingredients and combining them with internationally award winning culinary expertise to make dining out an occasion. A stellar wine list, including vintages carefully selected from vineyards locally and abroad. Intimate dining, comfortable high quality surroundings and attentive service; dining out the way it should be.
passy, 74190 France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not enough cooks in the kitchen”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A charming place, but we had no luck when we went last week. Unfortunately there was a large party to be served before us and we spent three hours there waiting to be brought tepid dishes of very small quantities, like "nouvelle cuisine" some 15 years ago. Service was mediocre and never offer any apologies for the extremely long wait. Prices were really too high, considering the overall lack of professionalism both in the kitchen and in the dining room.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CathelinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    22
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

From the moment you enter this charming little house, you feel like you're royalty! The food was superb and the service impeccable. We easily sat for 2 1/2 hours, not rushed, enjoying the best that Nelson offers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this place....”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

5 star food tucked away off the main drag...wine list as promised...selective and high quality with food and service to match!

Helpful?
1 Thank dmj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular food which is worth the wait”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Starting with the great, we thought that all the dishes and many components of those dishes were cooked perfectly, interesting and tasted excellent. We had a starter and a main each and all were some of the best dishes I've had in NZ. The amuse-bouche was quite nice as well with a very tasty shot of soup. I also mentioned that my wife is gluten intolerant in the reservation notes and they made sure all her dishes were gluten free (without affecting anything taste wise) without having to say anything. The selection of wine by the glass was pretty good and the prices were in line with I have seen in NZ in most restaurants. It's nice inside as well.

However, the wait times (which were mentioned by others) were a bit excessive though. It's not a big place at all and wasn't packed (although there were a couple of big tables) for a Saturday night and it seemed that the food came out slowly to every table. I think the couple near us managed to go through 2 bottles of wine actually while waiting for the food - we fortunately just did glasses else might have drank a bottle before first course too.

It would have been over an hour from when we sat down to get our starter and then close to an hour for the second course. We skipped dessert primarily because weren't sure how long it would take. Even the bread actually didn't show up at our table after we sat down for quite a long time, although the butter and two kinds of salt were there from the beginning which we were quite tempted to eat with a spoon at one point.

But again, the food was very good and I think perhaps the complexity of the dishes (for example my beef course had lightly smoked sous-vide steak, a beef and potato croquette and a braised beef pie plus multiple vegetable components) is causing the waits. The service was generally fine although sometimes seemed a bit casual (in actions, not just manner) for this type of restaurant. Ditto on the music out of boombox on the bookshelf.

I would highly recommend going for the food, just don't be starving and impatient so you can enjoy the dishes like we did.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndreyDSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing place, must do in Nelson ”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

What a great place. Amazing food, the best we had in 2 weeks of touring the south island.

Made us feel so welcome even though we turned up with 2 kids aged 6 and 4.

Even made our dessert in a takeaway for us!!!

Really nice, would absolutely recommend. If trip advisor had 6 stars I'd have given them that.

Thanks mint, you made our trip to Nelson.

Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mint Dining Room also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Mint Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing