We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Booking.com
$71
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/21
FindHotel
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
Hotels.com$71
Priceline$75
Trip.com$76
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
227
73
14
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
227
73
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tahunanui beach heated swimming pool bedroom unit home from home a great stay city centre holiday park wonderful hosts andy acadia motel sky richmond cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 319 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2016

From the warm welcome at the front desk, perfect knowledge of the whole of the Nelson area to the clean and comfortable room with all the facilities you need from multi channel sky tv to the very comfortable superking bed. AAA+

Room tip: Only stayed in one room
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean-ning
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Hi Sean & Ning,

Many thanks for your time place a review here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy you guys enjoyed your stay with us and found our apartments accommodating and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you guys again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2016

What started as a very helpful and agreeable booking phone call ended with feeling ripped off. We were a party of 5 and big family suite was unavailable so manager agreed to provide us 2 rooms for the same price. We were about to go on a tramp and when I asked if we could leave surplus gear there that was not a problem.
Reality is that we were overcharged $20 and manager bleated about being so generous allowing us to leave bags there. We did return there for a night after the tramp and this was actually the problem night but whatever, am sure there will be another motel nearby and would suggest save yourselves some stress and go there.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2016

I have to admit I am not surprised to receive this review, although we have already addressed this issue directly with you and sent you two Loyalty Discount Vouchers because of the said miscommunication. However, the quote sent to you was the price you paid. Initially to assist you with your reservations we did supply you with a large discount for the 2 x Studio apartments for 5 guests due to the issue of not having our large 2 bedroom apartment available for your requested dates. To suggest we discount the apartments more on your second visit was not possible as they were heavily discounted from the outset. It is unfortunate that you misunderstood the information, though for that reason I did send the vouchers to avoid any animosity. We happily stored all your luggage for 5 guests for 4 days and do this on regular occasions for other guests. We did also find your credit card for you which was dropped on your departure and is awaiting your collection. This all seems a bit much for $20 but there is a principle involved and the error was not from our side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Comfortable and we'll equipped. Really friendly staff and room serviced each day. Really close to beach and lots of playgrounds. Kids loved the pool. Good parking. Was good to have access to washing machine.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cindydS1706XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2016

Hi Cindy,

Many thanks for your review. Very happy to see you guys had a comfortable stay. We would look forward to welcoming you guys again on any further visits into Nelson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

We were welcomed by Gina and Andy who are both friendly and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of the studio unit we asked for and delighted with free full WiFi and multi channel Sky TV. The Superking bed was as good as home, the kitchen, which had microwave plus a full functioning stove was everything one needs in a motel. It was perfectly cleaned each morning of our three night stay; even the bed was made for us, as well as the towels etc being replaced.

We have stayed in various accommodations in our three week tour of the South Island and honestly say this was one of the top two places. The price was very fair.

Being close to the airport, we expected noise from aircraft, but this was not the case and we had completely quiet nights with no disturbance.

Arcadia Motels are close to the lovely Tahunanui beach. The town is handy and easy to find and there are lots of things to do and see in Nelson. We will recommend this one to friends.

Andy recommended a restaurant (Styx) and offered to book it for us, which we agreed to. A nice surprise awaited us at Styx, when we were offered our first drink on the house. These little things help a lot to make a pleasant stay even better!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Hi Roger,

Really good to know you guys had a great time here at the Arcadia and that we ranked top of your South Island accommodation experiences! We like to make sure all our guests have a super time here in Nelson and so we are very pleased our recommendations were found to be to your liking. We would enjoy your company on your next visit into Nelson so please use your loyalty discount voucher anytime you fancy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment with the kids right near the pool. Excellent for them to play in the pool while we were nearby, and the two rooms allowed us all to get a good nights sleep. Kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jbfal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Hi James,

Many thanks for taking the time to place a review. Its great you found our apartments fully equipped and comfortable and that you guys made use of the solar heated pool. Do keep us in mind for your next visit and give us a call direct for best prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews