We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in Arcadia Motel, Nelson”
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Our stay in Arcadia Motel, Nelson”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I found this motel a very pleasant place to stay the room was very clean and the host very helpful and friendly. My friend and I had a very relaxed sleep in our warm cosy room. We have stayed in many motels but this was excellent. Thank you to our wonderful hosts

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Iris,

Thank you for placing a review on tripadvisor. We are very happy you found our apartments very clean and tidy and it is very nice to know that you found our accommodation excellent in comparison to other motels. Very high praise indeed! We will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
70
91
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaikoura, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at Arcadia last week and found it a very pleasant place to stay. We had a large studio unit which was extremely clean, quiet and comfortable. It is close to the beach, shops, restaurants, take-a-way food and the workingman's club. An added bonus was a spar bath as this combined with a very comfortable bed ensured a good nights sleep. This was our second stay at Arcadia and we will be back. A big thank you to the very friendly owners.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 560Dorothy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Dorothy,

Many thanks for staying with us again, and for your review. We are very happy you guys had a great nights sleep in our luxury sleepyhead super king beds and found the apartments to be of a good size and well equipped. We will look forward to seeing you guys again on your next trip into Nelson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The motel is a little older in style but is very well maintained and very clean and tidy. It is well located in Tahunanui and is close to shops and restaurants. It had a good kitchen area. The motel is quiet and the owners very friendly and helpful. There is free wireless internet in the room. Parking and access is good.

There is a great fish and chip shop (The Sands) down the road and the Speights Alehouse Restaurant has a courtesy bus that will pick you up and drop you off at the door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Gemo,

Thanks for staying with us and for your time to place a review here on TripAdvisor.Its great you found our motel was very clean, tidy and spacious with a good sized kitchen. Got to love those fish & chips:) It is our pleasure to offer Free Unlimited WiFi to all our guests and provide those home from home comforts such as over 50+ Digital Sky Channels in even apartment and IPod Docking Stations. Keep us in mind for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Eight of us (4 couples) stayed for 3 nights and certainly enjoyed our stay,
We found the owners Andy & Jena very helpful & friendly. The units were very clean and every thing we needed was supplied.
We certainly recommend this motet if looking for accommodation in Nelson.
Jenny & Brian

Room Tip: corner suite as you get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Guys,

Thanks for letting us know that you all really enjoyed your visit and for your recommendations to other travelers coming to Nelson to stay with us! We would look forward to seeing you all again on your next vacation. Give us a call on our free phone 0800 548 6791 to make a reservation. Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at the Arcadia. The unit is meticulously clean and well maintained with tasteful decor, furnished to a high standard. We are a family of five. I was a little concerned that 2 bedrooms would be too small for us, but the room the children shared was very large and they managed extremely well in the space. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. They suggested places to visit with the children and offered to book various trips for us at no extra cost. Our children (8, 12 and 14 years) loved being close to the beach and the fun park as there are plenty of activities to enjoy just on the doorstep of this well appointed motel.
Andy and Jena are great hosts, creating a warm inviting atmosphere. Thanks, we will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Oakview,

We are very happy that you guys enjoyed your visit. It is great to know that you found our apartments super clean and well maintained. We will definitely look forward to seeing you guys again on your next trip into Nelson. Its our pleasure to give tips on the great activities in our area. We like to make sure you get the whole Nelson experience! Many thanks for taking the time to place a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Arcadia starting Easter Friday 2013 which to say is one of the busiest times for the owner, they were most helpful with whatever we asked be it on the appartment or the area. The appartment in our opinion was of a very high standard and well equiped. Guest service was propmt and the cleanliness was one of the highest standards we have seen in NZ. We will stop here again and would recomend it as a stop to anyone. The free internet and ease of access was a special bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Phillip,

We are very happy you found our 2 bed apartments to be very clean and of a very high standard and you found the full kitchens well equipped. We were very happy to be of service. Many thanks for your recommendations and for taking the time to write a review. We will look forward to you next visit and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Helpful switched on owner with useful suggestions to maximise your stay. Only there two nights so couldn't take full advantage but Nelson itself probably our favourite NZ 'City'. Rooms and general grounds immaculate. Nearby shops not so good and you need to take a car ride into Nelson itself for more choice. Shops etc in Nelson first class. Take the walk from the centre to the 'centre of NZ'. Fantastic. Early morning flights come over the motel but it's no Heathrow! Would be happy to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haslingfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Guys,

Great to know you have nominated Nelson your favorite NZ city! Also many thanks for your recommendations to other travelers to come stay with us here at the Arcadia. We are a quiet beach destination being only 600m to Tahunanui beach, but only a short 3 min drive to Nelson City CBD for your shopping fix. Thanks for your review. Hope to see you on your next trip in to NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
2.6 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
93 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Nelson - your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and Marlborough Sounds. Arcadia Motel - your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing