We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Sands Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sands Nelson
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We really loved our 3 night stay at The Sands and enjoyed the benefit of low season travel by being upgraded to a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment.

The apartment was very modern, clean and spacious and the managers friendly. Yes, it is on a busy road which may be an issue in the warmer months, however we had the doors closed as it was cool and opened the windows for ventilation at night time. Our bedrooms were at the back so the noise wasn't a big issue.

The apartments are a short drive out of the main area of Nelson but in a good location and the beach across the road is lovely.

I would definitely stay at The Sands again....... if I'm lucky enough to visit Nelson in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2011

Very disappointed with whole expereincefor the price we paid. Not only were the rooms were not that clean the main bedrrom linen looked like it need a good wash and the 2nd bedroom was very small.
View was great but yet again furniture on balcony very old looking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in late December 2010. The apartment was excellent, bathroom a bit small, but bedroom was quiet. Traffic noise really is a problem - it is on a very busy road, and you could not watch TV with the balcony doors wide open. Same with sitting on the balcony, the traffic noise was a problem, although my husband like watching the planes take of and land. But we had a restful 3 days before heading south.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We had three glorious nights in this lovely spot.
The apartment literally took our breath away, it was so lovely, although very modern, was comfortable and had everything you could possibly need. The furniture was so nice, we wanted to pack the entire apartment up and take home. The large balcony gave a fabulous view over the beach. Although a busy road and restaurant/bar were directly below us, we heard nothing. Bed was king size and very comfortable. Manager went out of his way to cater for our needs. The one and only negative feedback was the towels, they were so thin and old and for three days we only had 2, but they got everything else right. We can't wait to return

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Marcelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir habitaciones con vista al mar o bien NO AL ESTACIONAMIENTO
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cofe858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
Thank marina0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
562 reviews
1.9 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Nelson

Address: 623 Rocks Road, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $122 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sands Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing