We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”
Review of Relish Waterfront Dining - CLOSED

Relish Waterfront Dining
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: email info@relishdining.co.nz
Rotorua
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The shabby Yacht Club facade does no favours to one of the best dining experiences you will encounter in Nelson.With unsurpassed sea views and one of the finest yet most affordable menus in town, Relish was the best find we have had for a very long time. Friendly personable service with a menu,presentation and quality of food we thought was a thing of the past. A dining experience of this standard is hard to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, but slow service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We were seated and drink orders taken fairly promptly, food orders were taken at same time. Food took around 45min to arrive, slightly too long for me. Meal was flavoured nicely however my steak was over cooked. When we wanted to order a 2nd drink,could not get anyones attention and ended up havingto order for the bar. They really need to be more attentive and get meals out faster. Ended up skipping desert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhyacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place for nice evening dinner!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

After four great weeks in NZ we finally stopped in Nelson. In the Relish we had a great dinner on the terrace with a spectacular sunset and a great view to the sea. Good place. Good food. Good service!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WolfGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great harbour view and nice coffee”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant has a super sea view , is sunny and had pleasant decor. The coffee was good and the food selection also. You can sit outside on the deck to eat if you wish. There is good carparking nearby and a lift for any elderly/disabled patrons wanting to access the restaurant. I have had dinner and afternoon tea at this restaurant and recommend it as worth visiting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive and very small meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My chicken main was very small, no vege or salad and expensive.Steak was ok but again no sides.Took a long time for food to arrive.Wine $10.50 per glass.We were disappointed and won't be rushing back.It was interesting as we dined out last night at another local restaurant and it was much superior and cheaper.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relishdining, Owner at Relish Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback

All our meals are cooked fresh to order. A 300gr Medium rare steak will take a minimum of 30 minutes to cook.

We offer a selection of side dishes (vegetables, salad, potatos, fries and breads) to accompany our meals.

We have a wine list with over 30 wines and a selection beers and liqueurs to choose from. Our wines sold by the glass start at $8 per glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Waterfront Dining also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing