We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great harbour view and nice coffee”
Review of Relish Waterfront Dining - CLOSED

Relish Waterfront Dining
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: email info@relishdining.co.nz
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great harbour view and nice coffee”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This restaurant has a super sea view , is sunny and had pleasant decor. The coffee was good and the food selection also. You can sit outside on the deck to eat if you wish. There is good carparking nearby and a lift for any elderly/disabled patrons wanting to access the restaurant. I have had dinner and afternoon tea at this restaurant and recommend it as worth visiting.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    33
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive and very small meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My chicken main was very small, no vege or salad and expensive.Steak was ok but again no sides.Took a long time for food to arrive.Wine $10.50 per glass.We were disappointed and won't be rushing back.It was interesting as we dined out last night at another local restaurant and it was much superior and cheaper.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relishdining, Owner at Relish Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback

All our meals are cooked fresh to order. A 300gr Medium rare steak will take a minimum of 30 minutes to cook.

We offer a selection of side dishes (vegetables, salad, potatos, fries and breads) to accompany our meals.

We have a wine list with over 30 wines and a selection beers and liqueurs to choose from. Our wines sold by the glass start at $8 per glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Wow, blown away by Relish”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After going for lunch there a few times we decided to try dinner with friends to celebrate a birthday.
As soon as we arrived we warmly welcomed from the chef who works right by the entrance through to the excellent serving staff.
The menu offered a broad selection of dishes without overwhelming you with to many options.
This night they had the pate available which i understand from the chef is not a regular dish at the moment so we were quite lucky because it was amazing as a entree. I can also particularly recommend the pork and steak as mains - they got big raves from some of the party. All well cooked and presented.
The whole night was a big success and alot of that was down to the staff there who were attentive without hovering, relaxed and friendly whilst still being professional, even the Chef came over for a chat.
Birthday well celebrated and I think we'll all be going back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Unfortunately our night at this restaurant was one of the most disappointing dining experiences we've had. If you look at our other reviews you will see that it takes quite a bit to go wrong for us to actually rate a place with a poor score but we felt it was appropriate in this case.

Having been seated we were handed menus and subsequently placed our drinks order. Unfortunately our waiter had forgotten us, after having to serve a couple of plates for another table, and so our order wasn't taken until quite a while after. When our order of two mains was placed, the wait began. After one hour had passed since we were seated, we were getting fairly frustrated. Adding to this was the fact that a total of four other tables, which had all placed their orders after our own, were served entrees or desserts in this time. We spoke to the waiter at this point and he apologised profusely, saying he was doing everything he could to get our order out. It took a further twenty minutes before our food arrived. My salmon dish was very good but my partner did not enjoy his main at all. The waiter explained that the entrees and desserts were being served from a different part of the kitchen and hence other tables were being served before us. It is surprising though that a kitchen can't get out two mains in a reasonable time frame. We were offered complimentary desserts as an apology which was a nice gesture, but we simply left after our main as dinner wasn't exactly enjoyable anymore.

All other diners that night seemed to have had a pleasant and smooth experience, but it is interesting to note that a recent review also described a similar situation with two mains taking a long time to be served. Our waiter was professional in his handling of the situation but I don't think we will be returning to Relish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b_and_d_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great night yum yum”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

8 of us, teenagers to adults, had a great night, awesome food, all of us had 3 courses and all meals were excellent. Drinks were good, not a huge selection but we were very happy. Service was friendly and prompt.Thanks all for an excellent night, we will be back!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cherylfeb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Waterfront Dining also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing