We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking and swimming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cable Bay Holiday Park
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Walking and swimming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went to explore historic Cable Bay, but found this delightful smaller camp and decided to stay. Good grassed area for our tent with plenty of water taps, plus trees for shade. A short walk to a safe but mainly stoney swimming beach. The owners allowed us to go through their farm property to join the hilltop walkway. Very clean facilities and a well equipped kitchen stocked with utensils and crockery. You'll need a boat if you want to catch fish. In the lounge is a fascinating folder with a family member's recollection of early settlers in the area. Very quiet except for one night when a long-term resident was having noisy drinks outside until midnight.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GypsyFrog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara S, Owner at Cable Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Its great you enjoyed our stay with us at Cable Bay we appreciate your frank comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Campervan sites are few on this small holiday park but set on a huge land area primarily used for farming and forestry owned by the family. Had a warm reception. The cable bay walk was closed near sept/Oct for lambing season, heard it is great but i was able to go on an alternative route, a great walk up the mountain to see fabulous views of cable bay and adjacent delaware bay. Greeted with interesting flora and fauna along the walk. delightful birds along the way and sheep all around. Enjoyed the fact that there i had a huge area to explore and no one to block my view. It's a sidetrack from the main highway when travelling from picton to nelson but more often than not, this means you get to visit let commercializes spots and savour a piece of beauty for yourself. One of those things that makes a visit more unique. No dumpstation though so dump b4 u go. cosy and compact amenities cater for everything u need. I highly recommend this for ppl who enjoy quiet nature, a leisurely walk and kids who love farm animals. One more thing, drive carefully when near the village, the roads are a bit narrow but manageable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Small holiday park (18 places powered and 8 non) on the end of the cable bay road near Nelson of the SH6. Beautiful surroundings and an nice place to swim or walk. Powered site is $34,- and al the facilities are clean and well maintained. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Nice camping ground. Out of Nelson but only about 40 minutes away. Worth it. Cable Bay it beautiful. Camped here but it looked like there were a few units as well. The customer service is barely there but they are nice. They also run the farm so aren't there a heck of a lot. But they seemed lovely. Old rusted tractor there made quite a beautiful picture. Very close to the sea and the walkway. Both beautiful. So clean and pretty good facilites. Small and quite cozy. Great place if you just want to get away for a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NelsonGibbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson
9.4 mi away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
8.3 mi away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
21.2 mi away
Motueka TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 3 in Kaiteriteri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
6.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cable Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Bay Holiday Park

Property: Cable Bay Holiday Park
Address: 800 Cable Bay Road | 8K Off SH6 at Hira, Nelson 7071, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cable Bay Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cable Bay Holiday Park is one of those off the beaten track experiences, situated on a farm that is on the site of the first international telegraph Cable Station (1876). Guests can swim, take a guided Kayaking trip, visit Happy Valley Adventures, walk the Cable Bay Walkway or just enjoy the peace of Cable Bay at neighbouring Cable Bay Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cable Bay Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing