We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a motel...”
Review of Riverlodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverlodge Motel
Ranked #23 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We only spend one night in Nelson so this motel did the job for us. It wasn't difficult to find and the location was good for walking into the centre - nowhere is really very far in Nelson. The apartment was spacious, although I wouldn't have arranged the furniture in the same way - as it was, there was no bedside table. The furniture was also a bit "retro" in style - similar to the ones I have seen at Camden Market - those from London will know what i mean.

The bathroom was refurbished, so it was nice and bright. The kitchenette had everything you need - we had dinner out, so only used it for making tea and breakfast.

The owner was friendly and helpful. i agree that the area around the apartments could be a bit tidier, but there we were only there to sleep. We were there in low season and weren't bothered by any noise. Again, being the low season, it was good value for us. Actually, it was the cheapest place we stayed in during our tour of NZ. But we had to pay for internet connection, albeit not expensive really. If we had to stay for several nights, we might consider somewhere, however.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pibochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2010

Booked Quier 2 bedroom unit, given:- old 3 bed cottage, complained, offered unit on cnr of 2 busy streets, I refused that. finally only option left-1 bedroom unit,
fridge so noisy, wouldn't be able to sleep in lounge with it. Every time water used in other units, water tank over our motel, made a lot of noise.
Paid for one night and left, after an argument with operator, he tried to charge us for the 4 nights we had booked. Wish I hadn't offered him one nights payment!!!!
Went to a wonderful modern motel Cedar Grove, fab people, immaculate motels, even a dishwasher. Made my holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed here on 2nd Feb and paid $115 for a nice studio room. The owner was very pleasant and obviously loves Nelson ( the town not the sailor ! ). The studio room was very clean with a nice kitchen area and large bathroom, although there was some plumbing noise, possibly from the laundry downstairs. The outside seating on 'our' balcony was really almost a walkway. A few of the outside areas could have been a bit tidier, and the rotary drier area outside the laundry was a bit of an eyesore from upstairs. It was a pleasant walk into town across the nearby bridge, and there was a nice river walk a few steps away.
Nelson is a really pretty, lively little town with a very good selection of shops and restaurants, apparently it gets the most sunshine in all of New Zealand !
Would definitely visit again and may well stop at Riverlodge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I booked into the motel because it looked good on the internet and it was close to the CBD.
Big Mistake! The location was good although a smell from the tidal river wafted through when the tide was out. But, that wasn't the only bad smell. The room that my two girls had was quite smelly and the whole place was so old and mankee. I should have checked out before unpacking but because of the motel policy of being charged a nights accommodation if checking out without giving a certain amount of notice we did end up spending one night there (we were booked in for two). None of us slept because the place felt so dirty. The carpet in the lounge was so stained I would have been embarrassed to let anyone see it. The whole unit had a air of neglect and overuse.I feel we were totally mislead by what we saw online. We did check out the next day so but I now feel ripped off as I was stupid enough to pay the $190 for the first night. It was the dearest accommodation we paid for on our 8 night trip and it was most definitely the worst.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 343maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Weber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.3 mi away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
18 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
717 reviews
4.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.9 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 42 in Nelson
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverlodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlodge Motel

Address: 31 Collingwood Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverlodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riverlodge Motel, Central Nelson EXCELLENT CENTRAL LOCATION - situated in a quiet street but only a 3min stroll to sunny Nelson's bustling town centre with shopping and restaurants, park and galleries. Riverlodge Motel offers comfortable and affordable accommodation, from north facing studios to spacious family apartments and interconnecting units for groups, we have the right accommodation for you! Take advantage of our great location to explore Nelson's passion for art and crafts and the fantastic selection of cafes and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you Matt and Myrielle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Riverlodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing