We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel”
Review of Riverlodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverlodge Motel
Ranked #21 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This motel was great! Our room was clean and tidy, and the family who ran the motel were fantastic - they whipped up a great breakfast for us, and even helped us find things to do on the days we were in Nelson. It's within walking distance to the heart of town, and just a short drive from some great vineyards and beaches. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 42 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had the separate cottage and it was wonderful. Vintage and old fashioned but smart, clean and with a well appointed kitchen and every gadget required including a wide screen TV, sky and a box of DVDs for rainy days. Very quiet with off road parking, a lovely little home. We would definitely recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 725LDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I didnt actually make it to Nelson to stay here but I cancelled the accommodation giving 6 days notice after changing my travel plans. I paid upfront through Jasons Travel NZ. I expected a cancellation fee but the proprietor refused to refund any of my $180 for 1 nights stay because I didnt have a 'good enough reason'. I think only a death in the family counts as a good enough reason. Jasons didnt really seem to do anything for me after I complained either. Read the cancellation policy as if you want any money back you will have to give at least 28 days notice. Mistake made, lesson learned.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Riverlodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

It is unfortunate this person did not contact us directly about his need to cancel as we are generally supportive of people who talk to us and explain why they are unable to meet their contractual obligations. In this instance, the booking for a January date was made in November and the booking system used makes it impossible to click the confirm button without going through the cancellation policy. We held the requested room for two months through the peak booking season and in the end all we received was a couple of days notice through a third party that the person had a late change of mind and would no longer come to Nelson. We did seek to establish if there was more to the cancellation so we could refund the money but again, through the third party, we were told there was no reason for breaking the booking contract other than a late change of mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Although the loction might be central and therefore tempting, be warned the price is high for what you get. We were put in an annex to the rear, although we didn't reserve this when we booked on the web. This one room studio was cramped and the decor and furniture had seen better days. We heard every word our neighbours spoke in their rooms ... also their noises from the bathroom. Unpleasant..wouldn't recommend it. When we mentioned this on leaving our complaints fell on deaf ears.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnanddee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed at the Riverlodge for 2 nights as part of our 3 week New Zealand experience. Our room was toward the back of the complex, upstairs....sorry, don't remember the room number. Very comfortable bed, well appointed and roomy room, do-it-yourself amenities (kettle, toaster, mini-fridge, utensils etc.) tucked away out of site but still easily accessible. Excellent laundry facilities. Thought we would treat ourselves to their homemade breakfast on our last morning - and boy are we glad we did! Delicious - the "works" breakfast was huge and the smoked salmon crossaint was perfection! Both came with fruit, and juice, and coffee/tea - fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank can1getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

The accommodation was all fine, good clean room, great value, etc. We left behind the charger for my laptop and when we rang, they were so helpful and posted it to our niece's house for us. They couldn't have been more helpful. We are so grateful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DellaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

We only spend one night in Nelson so this motel did the job for us. It wasn't difficult to find and the location was good for walking into the centre - nowhere is really very far in Nelson. The apartment was spacious, although I wouldn't have arranged the furniture in the same way - as it was, there was no bedside table. The furniture was also a bit "retro" in style - similar to the ones I have seen at Camden Market - those from London will know what i mean.

The bathroom was refurbished, so it was nice and bright. The kitchenette had everything you need - we had dinner out, so only used it for making tea and breakfast.

The owner was friendly and helpful. i agree that the area around the apartments could be a bit tidier, but there we were only there to sleep. We were there in low season and weren't bothered by any noise. Again, being the low season, it was good value for us. Actually, it was the cheapest place we stayed in during our tour of NZ. But we had to pay for internet connection, albeit not expensive really. If we had to stay for several nights, we might consider somewhere, however.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pibochen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.6 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
0.2 mi away
Kings Gate Motel
Kings Gate Motel
#22 of 42 in Nelson
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#8 of 42 in Nelson
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverlodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverlodge Motel

Address: 31 Collingwood Street | The Wood, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $84 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverlodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riverlodge Motel, Central Nelson EXCELLENT CENTRAL LOCATION - situated in a quiet street but only a 3min stroll to sunny Nelson's bustling town centre with shopping and restaurants, park and galleries. Riverlodge Motel offers comfortable and affordable accommodation, from north facing studios to spacious family apartments and interconnecting units for groups, we have the right accommodation for you! Take advantage of our great location to explore Nelson's passion for art and crafts and the fantastic selection of cafes and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you Matt and Myrielle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Riverlodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing