We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Century Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
“wonderful facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

A great place for a stay, friendly helpful staff, incredibly well appointed (loved the spa bath), well heated and centrally located. Off street parking, nice and secure. Can't get much better than this - would totally recommend you stay here on a trip to Nelson!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Glenda, what a delight it was to have you 2 coming to stay with us at Century Park. Many thanks for some of the amazing things you did teaching Nelsonian's about nutrition, it sure was appreciated. Look forward to having you back next time they bring you back to do more more courses. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    60
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
368
38
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Based on previous reviews, my wife & I booked a two night stay at Century Park and were not in any way disappointed. It offers comfortable and stylish accommodation in a convenient location a short walk from the restaurants and attractions of Nelson city centre. If I have one minor gripe, the stylishness has perhaps been taken just a little too far with the very shallow washbasins which for an old fashioned "steam razor" user like me proved a little impractical. However with friendly and helpful owners who provide a very useful list of local restaurants recommended by them or their guests, Century Park offers a comfortable and well located base from which to explore the area and we wouln't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for spending 2 nights in the gorgeous Nelson area. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Century Park. Perhaps next time when you make it to Nelson, we can tempt you see some more things to see and do in this area. Regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Elegant with good, modern facilities. Access unit we had requested was quite suitable for someone with walking disability. Very compact but warm and cosy. Walking distance to supermarket and restaurants. Good laundry facilities and parking outside unit. Very pleasant and helpful hosts - the recommendation to visit air museum in Blenheim was a bonus! Enjoyed our stay thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to do this writeup on TripAdvisor. We loved having you stay with us and are pleased that you liked our recommendation of going to the Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre, it sure is well worth seeing :-) Look forward to having you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed in King deluxe studio, warm room, comfortable & clean but this might sound silly but too much furniture in the room. We had two large suitcases and small bags, not much floor space when sharing with 4 chairs. Bathroom great but would agree with others, no where to put your items. Walking distance to main retail area, thus good if city centre interests you.
Internet signal poor, frustrating for being in a city area.
Not sure if we would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to do a report on TripAdvisor, we hope that you had a chance to see some of the beautiful Nelson area during your stay . . .
We are a little puzzled with some of your comments:
1. The 4 chairs you talk about in your suite - two of them are dining/work area chairs and go under the computer work station, so they don't take up any floor space and the other 2 lounge chairs are there for you to relax and watch TV from.
2. Sorry that you didn't feel that there was enough room to put things in the bathroom, perhaps you didn't notice the 2 large cupboards underneath the vanity unit and the large drawer?
3. We wish you had mentioned about the Internet signal being poor, because I am sure we would have been able to help you. If guests do have difficulties getting on the system (like you did with your 2nd computer), it is usually because their computers were set to a Static IP, and as soon as we give them the instructions on how to fix their computer, the system works really well. Our guests love being able to have 500mb free internet per day, this is usually plenty for the majority of people and we only have about 1 guest per month who needs a little more mb's.
We look forward to having you stay with us sometime in the future, perhaps we may be able to tempt you to try some of our larger rooms?
Regards Ross & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor. Just as everyone describes, great rooms, very tidy and new looking, nice bathroom and very comfortable beds. 5 minute walk into town so great location but still quiet. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IainR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for coming to spend time with us in this beautiful part of New Zealand. We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are down this way. Regards Ross and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Good room and excellent location. A couple of silly things that were slightly annoying though. One being nowhere to put your toothbrushes in the bathroom, the hairdryer which you had to hold to button down to keep going, and lastly the mirror that constantly fogged up on the back of the door in the studio room. Apart from this, comfy bed, very clean and tidy, and again, location is great !

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet (104) - not sure about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Many thanks for leaving your room so beautifully, it sure is appreciated and we hope you enjoyed your trip up to Nelson. About the hairdryer - having to hold down the button when you are drying your hair is frustrating, but a recent fire safety requirement. What a pity you didn't use the large mirror in the bathroom, it has a heater behind it which mean that it doesn't fog up. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We traveled extensively through New Zealand over the last couple of weeks staying at motels throughout. Century Park Motor Lodge was possibly our best overall experience. Considerable attention was paid to quite a few details that fall through the cracks in even 5 star hotels. We were sensitively looked after by Jan, yet with humour and good natured teasing which was very welcoming are rarely seen. Nelson will be a destination on our next visit because of the Lodge rather than the other way round!

We didn't use the restaurant and swimming pool, hence can't comment.

Room Tip: As in all motels, seek a ground floor room if traveling with considerable luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasminePune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for spending time with us on your recent trip to New Zealand, you were lots of fun to have here. It is unusual to have people so full of fun, we really loved it. :-)
We really look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Regards Ross and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Park Motor Lodge

Property: Century Park Motor Lodge
Address: 197 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Century Park Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Nelson's newest luxury accommodation right at the heart of the city. A fantastic team ready to welcome you and help with your vacation needs. The best beds available in New Zealand. Come along, we would love to meet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Century Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Park Motor Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing