We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big tick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Century Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we rate this motel very highly - owners were accommodating with information, offers of DVD library, and the free internet allowance. Room was clean and well set up and the bed was very comfortable. Book direct for best room rates.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Many thanks for coming to spend time with us at Century Park. Nelson sure is a wonderful area to come to and there are so many wonderful things to see and do. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 683 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stopover to break our journey home. Delighted with the accommodation, spotlessly clean throughout, furnishings, kitchenware and bathroom accessories are very good quality. Pleasure to see bodywash/shampoo/conditioner in decent size stylish glassware. Very pleasant welcome and friendly chats with Jan and Ross. No noise from the street traffic, easy parking on site and close to restaurants and shopping. We will definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank margnme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

We are really glad you chose to spend your 2 day stop over with us at Century Park on your way back home. Many thanks for your lovely comments about our Motel, we do try to keep the quality to a high standard. Look forward to having the chance of meeting you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights just before Christmas while visiting relatives in Nelson.
Jan (the owner/manager) was bright and welcoming. She gave us a map when we checked in and pointed out all of the popular cafes and restaurants.
The room we had was spotlessly clean and had everything necessary for a self-catering stay.
There was even a small pack of freshly ground coffee provided.
Was a bit worried about cooking (and making a smell) as there was a note saying that cooking smelly foods was forbidden. We made salad both nights so avoided that...
Over all a great place to stay that is only a short walk away from Nelson's restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: If we returned we would probably book a room on the top floor to see what the views are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanneBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your time in Nelson and we look forward to having you stay with again in the future. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice and tidy room with super helpful and friendly staff. Because I did't bring my PC with me, the one at the reception was a good relief. Whenever I inquired someting about what to eat, how to get somewhere etc, they checked more than I had expected. Plus the receptionist gave me their suggestions such as a good place to eat breakfast. It took me just 5 or 6 minutes to walk to Cathedral Square, which is the heart of town. It was also close to the best supermarket and the best fish and chips shop in town. They even phoned Supershuttle when the car didn't appear after the time I had booked. So I can say they were extra helpful until the last minute of my stay in Nelson. As an independent tourist, I totally enjoyed chatting to them, too. I'll definitely come back some day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor secures you more privacy with fence and the ones on the upper floor give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cerendipity71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We so loved having you spend 3 nights with us in Nelson and having the chance of getting to know you.
Hope you are enjoying being back teaching English in Japan, your students are very fortunate having someone who does so well with their 2nd language.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed there for 1 night with the toddler while in transit in Nelson. The place is spotless, well fitted and nicely decorated. This comes at the price of being rather regimented – I was asked to sign a declaration of no smoking, no parties, no smelly food cooked on the premises, there are signs in the bathroom that advise if you have an artificial tan ask for a different towel. As a result I felt constantly anxious that I may break some rule that I had not registered in my mind strongly enough which did not add to the welcoming atmosphere and would make me think twice about staying there again.
The other thing was that unlike all other establishments where we asked for a cot, we would find it set up in the room on our arrival, in this one, the cot and linen was in a bag waiting for us to set up – I struggled with that too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

It was great to have you staying with us recently.
Thank you for acknowledging that we try to keep a spotless establishment, we do work hard to keep it nice for guests coming in and we are sure you would not have appreciated walking into a room that had lingering cooking or smoke smells from a previous guest.
You made a valid point about the cot not being put up for you, our apologies. Sometimes when a cot has been set up, the parents have decided to move the cot to another room, so they then had to dismantle the cot to get it through a doorway. We appreciate you mentioning this and we will try and make sure this doesn’t happen again.
We hope that you can spend longer in our wonderful area, there are so many amazing things to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's very helpful and flexible about our booking. When we want to change the total number of our booked nights the host still tries their best to help us out.

The room and the service are both so impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trentman155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Many thanks for spending time with us at Century Park, we hope that you will make it back to Nelson sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good location for town, short ride to the Airport, very accommodating owners. The units are generally well equipped, could definitely use some more storage space, and somewhere to sit and eat what you have just cooked in the mini kitchen, the spa bath is nice, but v noisy, generally it's all very good, but a bit too small. Think of it as a very well equipped mini, rather than a Bentley.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ikorel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopMotel, Owner at Century Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Great to have you spend time with us in our wonderful Nelson area.
We provide a variety of sizes of units for our guests which include smaller less expensive rooms up to the larger 1 or 2 bedroom suites.
All of our units have facilities to sit and eat, but some of our guests love sitting in the sun at the table and chairs on their balcony outside their rooms.
Perhaps when you come back to see us next time we could tempt you into staying in one of the gorgeous larger suites. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
562 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Park Motor Lodge

Address: 197 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#1 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $106 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Century Park Motor Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Park Motor Lodge offers a great range of luxury accommodation options - but they all have in common the comfort, facilities and high level of personal service for which they have received an award for Nelson's Best Small Accommodation Provider. Alongside this, Trip Advisor awards every year for Excellence. Century Park is one of the NEWEST motel establishments on offer in Nelson, NZ - opened in October 2009. Motel guests are offered a choice of 14 well appointed self-contained apartments - all housing luxury features that belie the price. Conveniently located right at the heart of beautiful Nelson City, a safe 5 minute stroll from the Nelson CBD - walk to Restaurants, Cafes, Museums, City sights and great Shopping. Situated at the centre of the country, Nelson is one of New Zealand's oldest cities and our motel accommodation provides the perfect base from which to experience the city's unique surrounding regions and enjoy real Kiwi Hospitality and tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Century Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Park Motor Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing