We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves a better rep.”

Penguino Gelato Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deserves a better rep.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nelson's favourite summer spot. Hidden away a bit and can be expensive if your kids imaginations get away on your wallet, but a wonderful refuge from the trials of shopping. Seek it out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MacNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A tasty and fun visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We were all enthusiastically greeted as soon as we entered by 2 staff dressed as penguins as it was one of the girls last day.

Sampled a few different flavors and it was very hard to decide on which to pick. The range is great with lots of classic favourites mixed with some interesting (but still delicious) new combos such as Mango and Basil.

Well priced

Friendly fun service

100% recommended :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fabulous gelato!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We love gelato, and have tried many sorts in different parts of the world, and this outlet stands up to any of them and outranks most. The range of flavours isn't enormous, but there are really unusual and intriguing ones. I had an avocado and pumpkin seed combined with a NZ fruit that I'd not heard of, and would have liked to try the watermelon and mint as well, but we weren't in Nelson long enough to do so (we found the gelato bar on our last day). If you are going on to Wellington, compare these gelatos to those for sale at Kaffe Eis on Cuba Street anddown by the harbour, and (if you can get it) the amazing chocolate gelato for sale in the Sunday morning market near the Te Papa museum -- the best in the world, in our experience.

For quality and flavour, $5.50 per double was good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Yummy ice cream and gelato. Always seem to be busy. Good varieties of flavours to choose from! If I have a sweet tooth this is the first place I think of! Will be back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I really like Penguino's ice cream! The place is in the town centre and they serve many types of ice creams. The price is very good too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguino Gelato Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Penguino Gelato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing