We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic - don't miss this one”

Penguino Gelato Cafe
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Nelson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic - don't miss this one”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The standards are high, the products fantastic, the prices are reasonable - make sure you don't leave Nelson without trying this extraordinary ice-cream..

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank BikerchickNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
603 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Gelato creative and at it's best”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We have had gelato all over the world. No one is as creative as this man. We tasted a salmon-dill and mussell-lemon grass-ginger. Strange to the ear, and interesting to taste. The one's we bought were more usual flavors and excellent. The blackcurrent, chocolate with cinnamon and raisin, and another chocolate made with a popular Italian chocolate candy. All so very satisfying to my palate.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nothing special on the day we went”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Fodor's guide-book stated that they serve an ice-cream Panini sandwich, but the woman at the counter had never heard of it. Didn't find any 'unique' flavors, although what we had was pretty good.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MNw2nderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Flavours”
Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you like different flavours, you'll love this place. I had banana and nutmeg one day, and avocado + roasted pumkin seeds another; and a couple of classics for quality check! Yummy!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaniqueR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful especially for gluten and dairy free people!”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

the choice and variety for people with gluten and dairy free issues is fantastic and the taste awesome

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phyzie-liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguino Gelato Cafe also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Penguino Gelato Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing