We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed my stay....would recommend.”
Review of Admirals Motor Inn

Admirals Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admirals Motor Inn
Ranked #19 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very much enjoyed my stay....would recommend.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very much enjoyed my stay. Excellent facilities including a clean and tidy room. Great location for me. Easy walk to town and restaurants. Managers very helpful and happy to assist. Friendly welcoming feel to the place. Would recommend if visiting Nelson.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
19
31
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

stay in nelson very frequently on business and have found the admirals motor inn to be very accomodating and a great place to stay. Have found other motels to be small and cramped, but the corporate suites they have here, are spacious, and very clean. Particularly like the super king size room i had on my last trip here, excellent and roomy work area, with a new kitchen and bathroom. Not far from town to pop out to for an evening meal. Staff friendly, and approachable. Will have to have a very bad experience to stay anywhere else when in nelson.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraser281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Some friends and i had planned a night away in Nelson for a girls night out and had booked a night at Admirals Motor Inn Motels, based on its close location to the city. Upon arrival for check in, it was very clear of the standard of this property. Greeted by the Manager, we we're grilled about bringing home "un-welcome guests" after a night out and were lectured about the consequences of this happening. This was the very first thing we talked about and it became clear to us that the Managers had poor customer service and were very unprofessional towards us. The next day we had a friend with us who hadn't paid and we were interrupted in the morning by the Manager who yelled at us very very rudely from the doorway as to why they hadn't yet paid. We were also asked to pay a bond of $100 but only because we we're 18 and we're judged by the Owner and his Wife immediately upon arrival. This upset us hugely! Before we left he had checked our unit and was happy with the way we had left it. We also found their service very unprofessional and inappropriate as they had arguments infront of us upon departure/check out and this made us feel hugely uncomfortable. We politely asked for a guest survey to fill out after our stay with them, and were rudely refused and ordered not to "threaten them" with a survey. This was not our intention at all and were AGAIN offended by his extremely rude behaviour towards us. In the end of our stay there, one of the Managers told us to NEVER RETURN to their motels again. This was very shocking to us because we were never rude, impolite or aggressive towards the owners and left feeling very upset & dissatisfied with the management and service of the motels. We were angry at the way they felt they could treat us because we were young girls. It's discrimination against youth, and extremely judgmental!
Not only was the management rude but the unit was poorly equipped. There were 4 of us staying in a room and there weren't enough towels to go around. Missing hand towels, no foot mats, not enough towels and only 2 face cloths. The shower at the bottom was rotting behind the lined walls, showing rotten wood at the foot of the shower on all walls. The toilet had no windows to let fresh air in but had a small vent in the roof which ended up being broken. The beds were uncomfortable, and cold. The decor was old, tatty and dated. Unpleasant to look at and didn't do the unit any favors. Wasn't properly cleaned, DUST EVERYWHERE. To someone with asthma this wouldn't be a safe unit to be staying in. The 3 single beds which were set up in the upstairs bedroom were too small and were extremely uncomfortable to sleep in.
Overall we were very unhappy with the quality of the rooms, the lack of service and especially the rude management and way we were treated. Unfortunately for the owners/managers of Admirals Motor Inn Motels their business will always be remembered by us in a very negative way and we will never be returning to stay with them again.
I wouldn't recommend this motel/motor inn to ANYBODY and for the business's sake they will need to sort our their customer service, management and many many others things in order to establish a successful business.
Hugely disappointing!!

Room Tip: Save yourself the drama and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for four nights on business at Admirals motor inn, Nelson. Room had recently been completely refurbished with beautiful new kitchen and bathroom. Very compfy bed and good work area for business traveller.

Owner very friendly and wellcoming,

Room Tip: In downstairs studio looking out over playing field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had a single unit on the ground floor for a weekend stay in Nelson. Found the facilities excellent and everything I needed was in the unit. Very warm and comfortable and the hosts were especially helpful and friendly. Easy walk to city, cathedral and market. I wouldn't look any further for a delightful place to stay in Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor unit if you're getting on a bit (like me).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We knew this would be a very basic no frills motel, but did not know that this extended to the very rude manager.
Found the room very cold and friends were staying at another motel, so tried to change motels through our booking agent. The agent contacted the motel and the manager came to the unit at 4am and demanded to know what was wrong with his motel.
The next day after coming back from an event at 1am the manager refused to let us in as it was late and he didn't like people who complained about his motel! My property was in the room. He only relented after nearly half an hour when we contacted some local friends who suggested we call the police.
The amenities were what was expected. At no stage were we rude, loud or offensive. I suggest the management change their key system if they do not want to be woken up during the night.

Room Tip: Any room NOT at this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlacKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Admirals Motor Inn last week for a night. It has been a couple of years since we last stayed there. We were delighted at the most beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean rooms. Along with the above we found the owners went above and beyond to make our stay one to remember. We also found the rooms priced well for the location etc that was offered.
It has worked as we now wouldnt stay anywhere else in Neslon.
Thank you to the owners, who have maintained a very high standard.
Peter and Shirley

Room Tip: We had one of the newly furbished rooms over looking the park, just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Motor Inn

Property: Admirals Motor Inn
Address: 26 Waimea Road, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Admirals Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing