We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again, an excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ah house, Nelson City B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ah house, Nelson City B&B
Ranked #9 of 59 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Again, an excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's all about location, atmosphere, environment, and value.
Ah House ticked all my boxes for the above - just off the city centre, so peaceful but walkable to everywhere you'd want to be in Nelson; friendly and helpful/informative welcome from Mark; great room with more extras than you'd expect; considering all that, good value for money too!
Highly recommended - so much so that it converted my partner to gaystays :-)
Daniel and Jon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
82
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

It is difficult to add anything more about this wonderful B&B that hasn't already been said in previous reviews so I will say just this - to miss out on staying here whilst you are in Nelson is to miss out on
a) excellent hospitality from Mark and John ( not forgetting the lovely Bella),
b) the chance to stay in the amazing Garden room
c) fantastic breakfasts
d) enjoying a beautiful garden
e) great location

There are lots of other reasons to book a stay at Ah House and if it's booked up for your dates - change them!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Spent 2 nights with Mark & John in their (Ah) House during tour of South Island and before driving on to Picton to catch ferry to North Island. One steps off the street, after parking car in garage they provide, in to a bit of New Zealand that will always be England! What a fantastic place. Extensive accommodation to rear of property overlooking garden with plenty of outside seating. Massive bed, sofas, chairs, dining table, music system, which had been turned on quietly for our arrival, books, magazines, etc., and kitchenette to rear. Shower room smallish but perfectly adequate. Hospitality second to none - wouldn't be anything else from 'Northern Lads'! Advice given on attractions, restaurants, in and around Nelson. Breakfasts were a treat. Near enough 'silver service' in M&J's dining room. Delicious full cooked or continental breakfast to one's choice and time with great conversation while they prepared/served. (If you have any 'Willow Pattern' china pieces you want to get rid of, let them know beforehand!). Great end to our travels in South Island. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a lot of different types of accommodations during our two week stay in New Zealand, including quite a few B&Bs, and this was our absolute favorite. Mark and John are incredible hosts, and they really make you feel comfortable and welcome. From the minute we walked up, Mark and John offered to help carry our bags, give us drinks, and it seemed like they would do anything to make us as comfortable as possible.

The room is amazing. We stayed in the garden room, which is enormous and opens up to the beautiful back yard. The bed is comfy, though the pillows weren't great. The room has all sorts of amenities, and you have the full use of the amazing back yard. Also some nice touches, like an umbrella in the room for our use (which came in handy!).

The B&B is very close to downtown, just a nice, 5 minute walk. It's really a perfect location, because you are far enough from downtown that it's a quiet, peaceful place to stay, yet close enough that you don't have to drive anywhere. Speaking of driving, you can park your car in their garage! This would have been good to know before my disastrous attempt at parallel parking across the street.

Breakfast was AMAZING. We lucked out with good weather, so we were able to enjoy it outside on the back patio. After eating a similar breakfast many days in a row (eggs, bacon, etc), it was great to have some different options, and we couldn't get enough of their delicious muffins!!

Before leaving, Mark and John made a lot of effort to make sure we were set and had a good plan for the day. They're extremely knowledgeable about Nelson, Abel Tasman, and the surrounding area, so make sure you pick their brains for some good, unique ideas.

Overall, we unfortunately only had one night at the Ah House, but we absolutely loved Nelson and the Ah House, and I can't wait to return some day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank furf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful B and B in Nelson. We can't speak highly enough of it. We had the simply enormous self contained garden apartment complete with its own lounge and kitchen plus garden patio for taking tea or breakfast under the peach tree. Mark and John are great hosts and their home is just beauitful, furnished with exquisitely good taste and lovely antiquies and furniture and paintings. The breakfasts (with peach jam) were delicious and our hosts were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, outings etc. We loved Nelson and it is a pleasure to be able to stroll into town through the Cathedral grounds. I'd like to go back to Nelson again and we would definitely return to this property. I should also make mention of Bella, their lovely Lakeland Terrier, who eats peaches and lemons and is very adorable!

Room Tip: The garden room is enormous, totally private, with its own access overlooking the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherryF359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Really difficult to add any more superlatives to those already written. Ah House is an exceptional b&b & Mark & John are generous & kind hosts. They have thought of every little detail to make your stay memorable even down to Mark doing our washing, hanging it on the line, & returning it folded or on hangers! (Mark you can come & stay any time...)
Their house is literally stuffed with china, pictures, etc.- Mark likes to collect - we had b'fast upstairs in the dining room one morning when it was a bit chilly & feasted our eyes as well as our stomachs!
Nelson, only a short walk thro' the gardens, is a lovely town with good restos or along the harbour road out to the beach there are also good eating options. And only 45 minutes up the road is the Abel Tasman Park where you can park just 50m from the start of the track by the cafe & after a brisk walk come upon a beautiful empty beach called Coquille Bay - magic.
Book the garden room, you won't be disappointed, it's very spacious & comfy, huge bed, a little kitchen very well appointed, ditto bathroom, & your own deck to relax on & take your b'fast laid on linen with silver & china! What more could you want?

Room Tip: The Garden room - see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1949emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in the garden room which is huge, spotlessly clean and with an enormous and very comfortable bed. Mark, John and Bella (the dog) are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed chatting to Mark over breakfast. We were offered the use of their garage and could have sat out in the back garden, had it been warm enough. The B&B is only 5 minutes' walk from the town centre with all those lovely restaurants and shops and it is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.1 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#1 of 59 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah house, Nelson City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah house, Nelson City B&B

Property: Ah house, Nelson City B&B
Address: 23 Examiner Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Ah House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ah House Accommodation offers you a relaxing, private, holiday & business self-contained accommodation in the heart of Nelson's beautiful city centre. Set in the leafy streets behind the cathedral, our great location offers you easy access to everything. Our garden apartment has its own private access. We offer you a warm welcome, flexible checking in and out times (please ask us for details). Our rooms have twin-singles/double/super king size beds, free broadband. You also have a choice breakfasts or one of our breakfast hampers, Books & magazines for your enjoyment and we are happy to to chat with you about Nelson and region to help you explore. Room service is provided on request. Whether you are visiting Nelson for business or pleasure we are ideally situated to maximize your stay. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ah house, Nelson City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing