We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of our Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ah house, Nelson City B&B
Ranked #6 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We were told we could use the garage near the entrance to the property, which made our arrival especially easy and welcoming. The accommodation was beautifully designed and had all we could have wished for. Mark was friendly, charming and informative, and had thought of everything for our comfort - for example, one of the best choices of books we have seen on a holiday bookshelf. The radio was on when we arrived, playing a delightful selection of tracks at a modest volume; we spent a lot of time listening to that particular local radio station. The breakfast was excellent - you could virtually ask for whatever you wanted, and Mark would do his best to provide it - he is an excellent cook!

Mark's suggestion of the best restaurant in town was indeed accurate, and we had one of the best meals we've had while travelling. Ah House is very conveniently situated for an easy stroll to the town centre. Nelson is a delightful town, with the most helpful inhabitants, and the WOW Museum was another highlight of our trip. Very warmly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely Garden Apartment - it was very private and totally quiet. Very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treaclecat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 136 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Mark and John made us feel very welcome - they are exceptional hosts. When our plans had to changed due to poor weather on the Heaphy Track, John and Mark were flexible and made the few hours we had spare in Nelson very pleasant. I would thoroughly recommend Ah House to anyone wanting to stay in Nelson. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Mark at Ah house is a wonderful host and his french toast is delicious! Everything was perfect! Great garden, delicious breakfasts, gorgeous digs in the garden room, so comfortable and every amenity. A lovely, quiet street yet in the heart of Nelson (2 min walk to town centre). A cute lil carport! I am recommending Ah House to friends and family as it is the perfect place to stay and explore/visit Nelson because you feel like you have come back home after a funfilled day out adventuring! Thanks so much Mark.

Room Tip: Ask for the Garden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atiuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm not usually a B&B person but I'm coming around and Ah House has a lot to do with that. Mark was an extraordinarily gracious host and the place itself was very charming. It was spacious and had all the comforts and amenities we needed for a multi-day stay. Mark's breakfasts were fabulous, the location is within easy walking distance of the cute town center. What more can you ask for? I whole-heartedly recommend it. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesSheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Ah House. Well, you can be lucky enough to find an attractive, sparkingly clean B&B just like Ah House, but the icing on the cake here is host Mark's engaging manner and warm personality. Makes such a difference. We so enjoyed our stay - by far the best accommodation on this trip. The independent access to the private apartment is a bonus and we loved the Ah House breakfasts, served on blue willow pattern china in the gleaming dining room of the main house upstairs which looks down over the garden toward the city and the sun. The town is only a few minutes' walk away, a gentle saunter down past the cathedral and you arrive in the best part. Supremely comfortable bed, beautiful bed linen. Bliss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My partner and I were looking for a place to stay in Nelson because we were coming into town for a concert. I wanted somewhere nice so I could surprise her and found Ah House. The place certainly lives up to its reputation. Mark and John were fantastic hosts and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our break away. The location was perfect and we walked everywhere, we left our car in their garage the whole stay.
Great people, fantastic place to stay..... Thanks guys!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The accommodation was terrific and Mark was a super host who really made us feel at home, going out of his way to help even being chief purchaser for a surprise birthday cake and bottle of bubbles.
If we are in Nelson again, this is where we will stay.
Cheers!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Joya Garden & Villa Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sussex House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
The Wheelhouse Inn and Captain's Quarters
2.3 mi away
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ah house, Nelson City B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ah house, Nelson City B&B

Address: 23 Examiner Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Ah House)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range: $141 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ah house, Nelson City B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ah House, Nelson City B&B offers you a relaxing, private, holiday & business self-contained accommodation in the heart of Nelson's beautiful city centre. Set in the leafy streets behind the cathedral, our great location offers you easy access to everything. Our garden apartment has its own private access. We offer you a warm welcome, flexible checking in and out times (please ask us for details). Our rooms have twin-singles/double/super king size beds, free broadband. You also have a choice breakfasts or one of our breakfast hampers, Books & magazines for your enjoyment and we are happy to to chat with you about Nelson and region to help you explore. Room service is provided on request. Whether you are visiting Nelson for business or pleasure we are ideally situated to maximize your stay. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ah house, Nelson City B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing