We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times shared with family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hopgoods

Hopgoods
Ranked #1 of 170 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good honest local cuisine, served in a casual environment.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good times shared with family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a fabulous meal here on 18 th jan.....service was excellent, and we hope to return on our next trip across the ditch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    130
    31
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good food and best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Dined here and food was great, especially the duck. Good veg options as well. Service was outstanding using a good team approach. Go there, it is good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
433 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A classy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Having seen many good reviews of this restaurant we had to go when we came down for the long weekend, and we weren't disappointed! The food is excellent, especially the crab and salt cod cakes for a starter, the service is friendly and attentive, good wines, and a happy buzz. It's great that Nelson has places like this, and we'll definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Zealand's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I have lived in NZ on and off for over a dozen years, and this dining experience is one of the best I have ever had in this country. The Snapper and the Lamb were both magnificent, and the service was excellent. Highly recommended for travelers to Nelson!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic Duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Four of us went for dinner. Fine Dining. Good Wine list. All meals were excellent (Fish and Pork) but the Duck was outstanding - best we have had in NZ.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopgoods also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hopgoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing