We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hopgoods

Hopgoods
Ranked #1 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good honest local cuisine, served in a casual environment.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I dined here recently with family and friends for a 30th. We had two in the party who had dietary issues and these were dealt with effortlessly. The whole experience was seamless, despite a very full and busy restaurant. Service was excellent, attentive but not overbearing. Food was excellent as always. Great wine list too which is something sorely lacking in many local restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    131
    31
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
232 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Still impressing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I don't generally re-review restaurants unless something has changed dramatically. However, I had to come back and review Hopgoods as I ate here again the other day and the meal was to die for. This would definitely be one of the best meals I've had in a long time. The beef carpaccio with crispy egg and truffle chips was just amazing. The chips were immense. I can still almost taste them now and just thinking about them makes me salivate. I had a fish main with gurnard, cauliflower cream, sauteed cauliflower and green beans - superb. The wine list as ever boasted an impressive selection of local wines so no-one would ever be disappointed. I just wished I came to Nelson more often. Not only is Hopgoods one of the best restaurants around but the shopping in Nelson is also fantastic (I bought 6 pairs of shoes)! Hopgoods should be congratulated in achieving a level of consistency that more expensive and upmarket restaurants can only dream of

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nesbitevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Filet Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is one of the best meals I have ever eaten. The fillet steak was superb and cooked to absolute perfection. The accompanying vegetables were also excellent. It starts with good quality grass fed beef and a creative chef. I usually stay away from red meat unless it is pasture raised. On the way out I complimented the waitress and asked if the chef was the owner. Mr Hopgood is indeed the chef. Quite good value considering this is one of the top restaurants in New Zealand.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a wonderful meal. As always the food and service were first class. The menu changes frequently. A beer list of a a hrea selection of Nelson craft beers was a welcome addition since my last visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notagain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm ashamed to say that we haven't been to our own city's most applauded restaurant for a couple of years until we got back there last night. And we are pleased to report that what made Hopgoods special then is what still makes Hopgood special. Unobtrusive service, quality produce, beautiful flavours and complete consistency are still the standards. You can choose Hopgoods for an occasion and know that you will get the meal you had hoped for, no surprises, no disappointments.The menu changes to suit the seasons but some signature dishes remain ... crispy duck salad, for instance, for the likes of me who had it last time and was happy to see it still there. It's a popular and busy venue, probably not the first choice for a hushed dinner for two, but we had a great time and the waitresses made certain our twosome wasn't lost as another 20 or so arrived. Compliments to Kevin Hopgood and his team, Form is fleeting but class is permanent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteM289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopgoods also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Hopgoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing