We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can you move these markets to Melbourne?”

Nelson Saturday Market
Ranked #6 of 84 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Can you move these markets to Melbourne?”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Because really this was one of the best markets we have ever been to. No junky stuff and a good selection of things. Lots of people adding vibrancy tot he occasion. A must do!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freetotravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    80
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“in one area”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

everything you will need all in one open air space. the range, the freshness of products, the inventiveness of local crafters, be prepared to spend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blondie101959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best market in new Zealand so far”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We have been travelling round new Zealand for about 2 months and have been to a lot of the markets and this is by far the best we have seen. Would plan a trip back to Nelson just to go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NavmanDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a great market, put it on your 'to do' list if on Nelson on a Saturday. A huge variety of goods and stalls to appeal to everyone. The fresh produce was amazing, I couldn't get enough, mindful that I was getting on a plane in the afternoon. It gets very busy and you need to allow time for a slow wander through

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwitreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had heard good things about Nelson Market, and we weren't disappointed. This is great little market with craft stalls, produce, food, and musicians, and it reminded me of Hobart's Salamanca (except for the waterfront!)

We were glad we arrived early, as it got very busy after about 10:30 am. We wandered along the stalls, stuffed ourselves with magnificent cherries, raspberries, and artisan nougat, discovered Pic's superb peanut butter, and ended up buying some local ceramic ware for ourselves and preserves for the obligatory gifts at home.

A great way to spend a sunny morning.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sapientpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson Saturday Market also viewed

 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Nelson Saturday Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing