We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I came back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This was my second visit to the bug and it was as fantastic as I remember. Great value for money. A clean room, pleasant staff and a great nights sleep. Tourists and travellers socialise in the lounge and kitchen in a considerate manner. Restaurants and bars are about a 20 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilltrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2010

Good atmosphere, great and friendly owner, nice place

Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank rastov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Arrived with a warm welcome from Anthony Lamb , the owner .Shown around the facilities.
Stayed there for only one week though has previously wanted to extend. What happened was..initially the free wifi was available 24/7. Towards end of our stay, it was turned off at 1030pm. I called the hotline , only to be scolded by his girlfriend though i asked her politely to turn on til at least midnight since we had some important stuff to surf. Not long after, we heard a bid bang on the door. Anthony, in his pyjamas scolded me for disturbing him and his girlfriend . I quote: You must be out of here by 10 am sharp tomorrow!!"
His usual chuckling friendly attitude had changed totally. We were left shocked by such a drastic action. We would recommend two other better place at the Sands apartment at Rocks Rd OR no.7 Grenville Terrace (off Moana Ave)..contact Paul Laird.
We certainly would patronize the Bug again as we got bugged for good.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrence007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We used this hostel as a base for exploring the Abel Tasman NP nearby. The hostel is a little away from downtown but the owner met us at the bus and also dropped us off at the bus downtown when we left. (It is only a 20 minute walk to town and there is a supermarket on the way.)

We took an over-night tramp in the park and left our baggage in the hostel in the meantime, the staff were very accommodating. The hostel also has free Wifi. They also have grills which we took advantage of. And free use of bicycles that were in good working order. Overall this was one of our favorite hostels in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xocliwtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank S717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Thank hanniB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lissi518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#3 of 45 in Nelson
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace Backpackers
The Palace Backpackers
#10 of 45 in Nelson
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#35 of 45 in Nelson
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
1.5 mi away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#28 of 55 in Nelson
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $19 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing