We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at bug! Not only did the owners go out of their way to provide free transport to and from the centre when you were leaving/arriving, but they also made you feel at so home! The hostel itself was so lovely (the garden was gorg) and clean and the kitchen was THE BEST. The free bikes were also such a bonus and made Nelson such a fun place to be in. BEST HOSTEL WE HAVE STAYED IN!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annayork1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 218 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent two nights at the Bug while travelling to Abel Tasman. The staff running the place have a great personality and were very helpful with recommendations, as well as holding our bags for the night we were in the park, even though we weren't staying at the Bug.

We typically do not stay at hostels or backpacker places, but we got the private room and it was well apportioned for the price, private bathroom, comfortable bed and uniquely decorated room. The location is a 15 minute walk from town, however our outfitter in the park had no problem finding it to pick us up.

Give the limited range of reasonably priced options in Nelson, I would highly recommend The Bug!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxbraun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here in mid-March and loved it. We had booked a double ensuite room, but we were upgraded to the studio apartment. A lovely surprise! The bathroom in the studio is huge, there is a shower AND a bathtub. After months of traveling, a bathtub is uber luxurious! The kitchen is well stocked (they even provide oil) and everything was very clean. There is also a TV in the room, but we didn't really use it. The price of the studio is only about $20 more than the ensuite, so if you are looking for some peace and quiet away from other backpackers, I highly recommend paying for it. There is also free UNLIMITED wifi, and it is quite fast. There is also off street and on street parking, plenty of space for everyone. We only got a quick peek at the rest of the backpackers, but it looked very clean, and everyone there was quite friendly. There is also a foosball table and free bikes. The hostel overall was quiet, and they do not tolerate loud, rambunctious drinking, which is exactly what we were looking for.

We also walked into downtown Nelson, which takes between 15-20 minutes. Not very long, and a very flat walk. There is also two supermarkets within 15 minutes walk. Though we didn't use it, they offer free rides into town and free pickups.

Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Studio apartment is worth the money. Just go for it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We got the two private room which was nice in size and had its own sink. It backs up to the patio so noisy guests will be an issue. We had some folks decide it was karaoke night at around 11pm to midnight singing Adele at the top of their longs, not polite. Overall pretty clean, but other guests were a bit messy. Small square footage for amount of people. Small kitchen, only one fridge for many people, indoor lounge area small. Internet went in and out in our room frequently. Had to move to main lounge, but they like to keep it "social" and not have people on their devices which I sort of understand if that is the environment you're trying to create. But, we are in a technology world and your wifi isn't strong in the rooms. Fresh bread in the morning was nice, free coffee and tea too. Just a bit cramped overall. And I can't say that it was bed bug bites that I have for sure, but I did we sketch up itching and have bites all over. Might have been from the sand flys at the beach up north, but I wasn't itching the day before and I'm afraid it was bed bugs. It happens, but isn't fun to deal with.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Worldttravel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebug226, Owner at The Bug Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Hi we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here with us at the bug,we pride ourselves in ensuring our guests have the best experience while staying at our hostel. I would just like to respond to a few of your comments, fridges, our hostel has three large fridge freezers in our main house,two located in the kitchen next to each other, and one located in the laundry where we ask all guests to place their drinks.internet we only ask guests to refrain from watching movies in our social area as we try to encourage guests to share their experiences while engaging in conversation. we endevour to maintain a high standard in our kitchens,but as you can fully understand we are not able to be on site 24hrs a day and guests are responsible of clearing away their own mess. We are not a party hostel and have a noise curfew as we are located in a residential street, We are very sorry to hear of your bites ,we have a strict weekly pest control regime in place and all our beds are encased in protective mattress protectors, i would be very surprised if you received bites in our hostel , sandflies have very nasty irritating bites which can last days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Thank you so much guys, this place is so welcoming, modern and friendly just the perfect combination for travelling alone or with friends. Owners couldn't do more to help. Well recommended! Nelson it self is also a great place to come and explore! Thanks again. Adam (Dorset, UK)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Adamraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

First things first, it is a bit of a walk to get to from downtown, its about 20-25 minutes to the i-Site but it seems longer with your backpack. They will however happily pick you up and drop you off from//to town so fear not if you are not one for walking.

I stayed a night when I first arrived before heading into Abel Tasman the following morning. I was put in the London room (even being on the other side of the world, I still cant escape London!), which had only three single beds (not bunks) which was a result, a seriously good nights sleep. When I returned, I stayed in the large dorm room, which was still pretty comfy, even though I was in a top bunk, which I try to avoid. Plenty of space and a shelf to put your phone for the early morning alarm (the little things are nice).

All of the facilities are clean and well organized and they serve fresh bread in the mornings although you need to get in early as it goes pretty quick. The communal area is like a typical living room, not huge but set up to create a good social atmosphere and both nights I stayed after returning from Abel Tasman I enjoyed with the other guests. Not really a place to party however (for those that want that), I am sure Paradiso would fit the bill for that (just be warned...it was pretty crazy when I visited).

And that's that, The Bug should definitely be considered for your stay in Nelson, I would happily go back. Enjoy Nelson and Abel Tasman should you be using the town as a hub. Any questions, let me know.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a great little hostel in a good location. It has a home-like atmosphere. The room size is adequate with comfortable beds. Each bed has a wall socket and two small shelves on which to place your things. The kitchen area is spacious and clean. There is a comfortable outside garden area for socializing. There is even free, fresh-baked bread every morning! The bathrooms were clean. Only two things missing: 1) A shelf or basket on the wall in the shower for your shampoo/soap, so that you do not have to put it on the floor, and 2) maybe an extra hook in the bathroom. Yes, it seems trivial, but these little things really do make a difference (to me). Very friendly and helpful staff as well. Overall a great stay!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank akd0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 43 in Nelson
248 reviews
1.0 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
1.3 mi away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#12 of 43 in Nelson
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $17 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing