We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bug Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$63
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$87
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$74
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$156
$127
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (226)
Filter reviews
226 results
Traveler rating
158
47
9
4
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
47
9
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble roomthe kitchenfree wififoosball tablethe main blockseparate buildingfree pickfree bikesplug socketsevery morningnew zealandbus stationcooking equipmentoutdoor areaabel tasmanlate checkyoung travellers
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 226 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

One of the best hostels we have stayed at in New Zealand. Free pickup and drop off by Richard the owner which is a great service, free lovely bread/tea/coffee in the mornings, and our room was clean with a nice comfy bed. The only downside I would say is the kitchen area is a tad too tiny when more than two people are around. We stayed two nights.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We only stayed there for 2 nights, but had a great time! We had an ensuite double room, and it really felt like being in a Hotel. The interior was stylish, just loved the different themes for each room! As a little welcome gift there were 2 chocolate cars on our bed, very cute! The hosts, Richard & Rachel, are amazig! So friendly and helpful...you can really feel that they love what they are doing! its a very homely and cousy place were you feel very welcome! Lots of help with booking trips etc., free WiFi, freshly baked bread for everyone in the morning, and one afternoon there was even banana-cake! When i come back to Nelson, i will stay there again for sure!!! Thank you for everything!

Ulrike from Germany

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A gem of a hostel; stay here!

Richard & Rachel work really hard to keep the place spotless and make sure your every need is met.

The wifi is free & fast, the washer is $3 with free laundry detergent. There are nearly 50 beds but you wouldn't know it as there are two kitchens and innumerable showers and toilets. I stayed when the place was booked out and there was plenty of groceries space, fridge space and no problems with waiting for cookers, bathrooms etc.

Lounge areas and outdoor spaces are also uncrowded and are set up in a way that makes interaction comfortable & easy ... or if you need some space, there's plenty of scope for that too - including a couple of hammocks.

Everything is painted in bright colours and kitchen & bathroom facilities are top of the range and in great condition.

There are also free bikes to borrow, which is handy as town is a 15 minute walk away.

You won't regret staying here. It really is super fab!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Beni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Awsome place to stay, good vibes, clean, fantastic room, friendly chatty owners, sociable atmosphere, calm, quiet, free parking, free wi fi and a fantastic garden with hammocks. Could have stayed here for weeks!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank john_hepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed one night recently in the studio/double w/bathroom and kitchen and wish we could have stayed longer. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans, cutlery, kitchen utensils, drinking glasses, cups, and wine glasses even (!). No drinking our wine from a coffee mug as we have had to previously at places we've stayed. TV with dvd player was handy, aswell as unlimited free wifi. The bathroom was awesome also. Spacious with both a shower and a nice big bath which we just had to use. All in all, totally recommend a stay in the studio with it's own kitchen etc. We were very impressed with the value for money and would definitely stay again and recommend!

Room Tip: As per above, we stayed in the studio unit or double room with it's own kitchen and bathroom
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews