We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We only stayed there for 2 nights, but had a great time! We had an ensuite double room, and it really felt like being in a Hotel. The interior was stylish, just loved the different themes for each room! As a little welcome gift there were 2 chocolate cars on our bed, very cute! The hosts, Richard & Rachel, are amazig! So friendly and helpful...you can really feel that they love what they are doing! its a very homely and cousy place were you feel very welcome! Lots of help with booking trips etc., free WiFi, freshly baked bread for everyone in the morning, and one afternoon there was even banana-cake! When i come back to Nelson, i will stay there again for sure!!! Thank you for everything!

Ulrike from Germany

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    44
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
87
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

A gem of a hostel; stay here!

Richard & Rachel work really hard to keep the place spotless and make sure your every need is met.

The wifi is free & fast, the washer is $3 with free laundry detergent. There are nearly 50 beds but you wouldn't know it as there are two kitchens and innumerable showers and toilets. I stayed when the place was booked out and there was plenty of groceries space, fridge space and no problems with waiting for cookers, bathrooms etc.

Lounge areas and outdoor spaces are also uncrowded and are set up in a way that makes interaction comfortable & easy ... or if you need some space, there's plenty of scope for that too - including a couple of hammocks.

Everything is painted in bright colours and kitchen & bathroom facilities are top of the range and in great condition.

There are also free bikes to borrow, which is handy as town is a 15 minute walk away.

You won't regret staying here. It really is super fab!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Beni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Awsome place to stay, good vibes, clean, fantastic room, friendly chatty owners, sociable atmosphere, calm, quiet, free parking, free wi fi and a fantastic garden with hammocks. Could have stayed here for weeks!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank john_hepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed one night recently in the studio/double w/bathroom and kitchen and wish we could have stayed longer. The bed was comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans, cutlery, kitchen utensils, drinking glasses, cups, and wine glasses even (!). No drinking our wine from a coffee mug as we have had to previously at places we've stayed. TV with dvd player was handy, aswell as unlimited free wifi. The bathroom was awesome also. Spacious with both a shower and a nice big bath which we just had to use. All in all, totally recommend a stay in the studio with it's own kitchen etc. We were very impressed with the value for money and would definitely stay again and recommend!

Room Tip: As per above, we stayed in the studio unit or double room with it's own kitchen and bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came to the Bug because friends recommended to us. We were not disappointed! Richard and Rachel are lovely hosts and the place feels just like home. The size of the house and the number of beds make it very comfortable and human size. The facilities are new, very well kept kept and very nice. We stayed 2 weeks and met a awesome bunch of people there. Its location is close from the city center, especially thanks to the complimentary bikes! I really liked the separate room for wi-if and computers users, leaving the living room for social interactions, games or reading (the couches are so comfy). There are even some hammocks and outside tables in the garden. We usually avoid backpackers as we are traveling in our campervan but we surely don't regret our stay at the Bug!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for 2,5 months in this hostel and it became our second home! Richard and Rachel are lovely hosts who really care about the well-being of their guests. I really like the "Bug"-theme of this place - you find little Beatles in every single room - even as a welcome-chocolate on your bed :-) The hostel is very clean, the beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equiped. You get free tea & coffee, spices, Wifi and - best of all: fresh bread every morning! It's a bit far from the city centre - but still close enough for a 10-15min walk - plus: bikes are provided. A cozy lounge-area, a nice garden and great people make this hostel the best one we've ever stayed in. We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuleUli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great place to stay for my two nights in Nelson. I was in a dorm in the seperate house, so could use the kitchen there or join others in the main block for a more sociable experience. The owners were so kind, welcoming and helpful, with pick-up and very early drop-off for the bus. Plus great & free wi-fi connection which was definitely not always the case in NZ backpackers! Oh and taking a bike out was a massive bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellarustybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Property: The Bug Backpackers
Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing