We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Ranked #5 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Rachel and Richard are really welcoming hosts to this perfect little hostel. We stayed for 5 nights in a double room. Although they had works going on in the rooms around us, we where shown this before we made any official bookings. The room we had was massive, beautifully simple decorations and the shower was the best shower we had in a long time. The hostel has a wonderful homely feel. A definite recommend! it is a little out of town, probably the only negative. Free wifi, bikes and fresh bread in the mornings. Thanks for a great stay!!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank emloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 218 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Despite it's location away from the very heart of Nelson this is an excellent place to stay, with free bike hire, free pick up and drop off and free fresh baked bread in the morning the value is superb. The place is well kept with character and a sociable atmosphere of a place to live, not just visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToothAndLies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Originally I was due to stay at The Bug for one night and ended up staying four as found it such a welcoming and cosy place to stay. It feels like you,re staying at a friends house rather than a backpackers. I was in the three bed share room and the bed was very comfortable, complete with two pillows. It was made up on arrival meaning it felt more like a hotel than backpackers! There were individual bedside tables for each bed, plenty of space and a wardrobe as well as four plug sockets per bed. A simple extra but makes it so easy to charge all your tools rather than hunting about a dorm for a spare socket.

The kitchen was extremely clean with lots of storage available for food. There is a water filter tap for drinking water, fresh bread every morning and wee charity shortbread biscuits for sale which are delicious. Free wifi is available and is quick and reliable. I was at The Bug whilst having to organise the next stage of my travels and found the free wifi great for all my bookings etc. there is a daily paper available, lots of board games and comfy sofas, laundry facilities, free bike hire, big clean shower rooms with lovely hot showers. The couple that run The Bug are extremely helpful and can,t do enough for you without being in everyone faces all the time which I,ve had happen at some hostels.

Aye it is a good 15 min walk from town but with all the plus points I certainly didn't begrudge walking. And free pick up and drop offs are freely available. There is a local convenience shop around the corner and a big supermarket about 10 mins away.

A truely great hostel and I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homeward2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed there one night only as we had an early flight out of Nelson.
The place has two buildings.
We stayed in the Twin room is a separate house. The place was very clean, everything was either new or recently renovated.
It has a very small outdoor area.
The doors have coded locks so you will need a torch if trying to get to the kitchen early in the morning from the secong house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We arrived in Nelson in on a late March afternoon, having reserved a double room with private bathroom at the Bug. The room was spacious and clean, and outfitted with a large private kitchen & cooking equipment, couch, and DVD player. The best part about the place, however, was the atmosphere and helpful attitude of the staff (especially Anthony) - despite having arrived at around 7 PM, we were able to get a kayak trip within Abel Tasman booked for the next day and a canyoning trip booked thereafter with his help. When we arrived back in Nelson 3 days later, we booked the same room and also used Anthony's help to set up a wine tour in Marlborough the next day. Very professional but also fun, and a great value - this hostel is top notch!

Room Tip: If it fits the budget, the double room was fantastic and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This place is so laid back, yet still clean and efficiently run. I've no idea how the manager does it! It really feels like you are staying with your friends. The rooms were delightfully clean, the kitchen was fully stocked and modern and the bathrooms spotless! Definitely a place I didn't mind lingering in and would love to revisit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeywalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

As soon as we arrived the The Bug it felt like we were visiting a friend. The manager and other guests were very friendly. The room was just like my bedroom at home, big and clean. The kitchen and living area are great. There's a nice outdoor area. A range of board games. In the morning there is freshly baked bread and the morning paper. And free wi-fi to boot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loretto84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
688 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 44 in Nelson
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#15 of 44 in Nelson
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tahuna Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $17 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing