We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, a little bit outside the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hostel, a little bit outside the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the bug for one night stopping in Nelson on our way to Abel Tasman National Park. We had a private twin room and were very happy with it. Rooms and community areas were very clean and well-cared for which you don't always find in backpacker places. Everything is designed around the VW bug, a nice idea with adds some extra personality to this place. They have free and fast internet here, though they make a good point not allowing any computers in the lounge to keep communication alive. Staff was very helpful with everything around Nelson. Only small minus is the location outside of town on a main street in a relatively boring residential area. You have to walk 20 minutes or hire a bike from the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuuttipukki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    44
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
87
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I looked at the location of this place and thought it was a little too far from town, I was staying at one of the most digusting hostels in the centre of Nelson and was happy to leave for a little more peace. So I came out to the bug! Having bikes you can use for free solved the issue of being out of town. I was shocked when I arrived here at how open and clean the place was! With several kitchens I have never felt there was too many people trying to cook, it has a very homely feel. Everything about this place has been far far far above what I was hoping for and expecting!! Do yourself a favour if visiting Nelson this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Occylukeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this cozy little backpackers. The major downside was that it's located pretty far from the "downtown" area, at least a 20-minute walk to the nearest supermarket and 30 to the i-site and other shops and restaurants. That said, Anthony, the owner, does offer pre-arranged pick up and drop off services. There are also bikes for use FOC but they aren't in the best conditions (my friend couldn't paddle backwards on his and there was only one brake!). Plus point of this hostel is definitely the free WIFI.

We stayed in a 8-bed dorm and it was pretty sweet and spacious, definitely enough space for 8pax. The mattresses were really soft and comfy, exactly what my body needed after days spent at the Abel Tasman NP. Shower was strong and warm too. The Beetle-theme around the hostel was really cute. There are also board games in the lounge. Kitchen facilities were adequate. The kitchen and dining/lounge area was just enough for the crowd when we stayed there in September (which I believe is the off-peak season) so it might get pretty crowded during peak season.

Anthony, the owner, was very friendly face-to-face but sounded a little grudging both times we called him on the intercom. Maybe I missed out something on the culture side. He does prepare freshly-baked bread for breakfast so that's a pretty nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alienshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, new zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a double room. There were plenty of showers and toilets nearby and they were clean and worked very well. The kitchen is well equipped and there is plenty of space to eat and socialise. The hostel is a little way out of town (maybe a 15 minute walk) and has some car parking. A good place to stay if you want to be in Nelson and not at a super-party hostel. Free internet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Really cool, modern and clean backpackers!
Stayed here for a night while doing some traveling and stayed in a double room. Good location and friendly service, the owner seemed to genuinely enjoy running the place and the enthusiasm was noticable.
My highlight was the VW beetle shaped chocolate on our bed, although my girlfriend ate mine befor I could!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potxnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked this BBH because it rated high in the BBH book. The atmosphere here is very relaxed. We were greeted by Anthony who was a great host and full of great information. We were happy to get a double room with private shower & toilet but it only had one hanger in the closet. The dissapointing part about our stay was the long walk to city centre, the bed was hard it had no padding. The heater did not produce enough heat to make the room comfortable. Internet (Wi-Fi) was constantly cutting out so using internet was very frustrating. The kitchen & entertainment room were small compared to other BBH properties we stayed at but the most dissapointing part about our stay was how the kitchen was constantly left messy. Trying to make breakfast, lunch or dinner was frustrating because other people staying at the The Bug had their bags of groceries all over the kitchen and counters were always messy with spilled water or crumbs. We ended up having to clean the kitchen counter so we could cook our meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My sister, her boyfriend and I stayed at the Bug for 3 nights during our backpacking trip from the South Island and to the North Island. It was the best hotel where we stayed by far. We stayed in the 6-bedroom dorm which I would recommend if you want a quiet stay. There are two kitchens, but the 6-bedroom dorm is in the smaller house with the less busy kitchen and farther from the main street. Anthony is a very good host and his hostel reflects his knowledge of the hospitality industry in which he used to work. Each bunk bed had a light, a shelf and outlets near them, so you can charge your camera and your computer without bothering your roommates. The entire place is immaculate. The showers had great pressure, and my sister's boyfriend claimed it was the best shower he has ever experienced. Anthony gave us a ride from our bus when we arrived and back to the bus when we left which we appreciated very much with our heavy packs! The wifi is fast and, most importantly, free. Also, fresh bread is baked every morning. The 8-bed dorms are also popular and more where the action is. I found everyone who stayed here to be very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtg308x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.0 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Property: The Bug Backpackers
Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing