We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place, will come again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent place, will come again”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a backpacker worth the stars.

It's been a long while since I've stayed in a backpackers but needed to be in Nelson for something at the last minute. Other hotels were a bit much for my short stay, so read up and decided on this place. Was a bit apprehensive as it has been a while since I stayed in a backpackers but all of that was just hogwash.

This place is a converted home. Very nice and clean and homely. Stayed in the taxi bug (all their rooms, not sure of dorms, were named taxi, race bug etc). The toilet was very cleaned and well kept. We didn't have any problems with our beds (twin). In fact we slept very well and my friend really enjoyed the beds (as another reviewer noted). Although the walls can be a bit thin so noise may be a factor.

Never got to taste the pastries but the bread for breakfast (complimentary) was magnificent. The backyard looked great, there was BBQ set and also a foosball machine.

Didn't get to use the bike or laundry. Internet is available and wifi is too. Very near new world and walking distance to town.

Recommended in my books....pics will come up a bit later as in phone

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViciousTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    44
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
8
88
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I absolutely loved Bug Backpackers except for one thing - the mattresses! I don't know if it was our room only, but we had mattresses that were broken and probably from 1975. Very uncomfortable. But I recommend staying here anyway - just check the bed first. Our room was the Race Bug.
One awesome thing about Bug is that they give out free pastries every evening! And trust me you want them.
The free wifi works great, the laundry is perfect, bathrooms are nice, kitchen has everything you need - but the best part is the backyard. It's just a really great space to hang out, grill, read, whatever.
The supermarket is very close and you get picked up for most activities in the Nelson/Abel Tasman area.
Try to get a bike if you can (we didn't have the chance) and definitely climb up to the centre of NZ for the amazing views.

Room Tip: Just remember to check the mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

this place is lovely. the owners are so friendly and so helpful. The hostel is really clean and modern.

We were in sunny bug room, it was lovely, only shared a bathroom with one other room.

kitchens are very well equipped, if a bit small for the amount of people.

fresh bread in the morning is a winner!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreadheadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hostel is just perfect! There is nothing i would change!!

I was staying for only one night, so i had to check out at 10am but i soo wanted to sleep in longer because the bed was extremly comfortable!! 2 pillows, and linen like in a hotel!! (i choose a shared room with no bunk beds!)

free bicycles (+helmets) are available!! free internet+wifi as well!!

the entire hostel is soo clean! the kitchen has everything you need; they even have spices and oil etc (you hardly find that in a hostel)

the bathrooms are big, modern and superclean! (there are hairdryers too!)

the staff is so friendly and offer a pick up service to the i-site!

pick this hostel - you won't regret it!!

Room Tip: the share room with no bunk beds is only 25$ for BBH!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank california2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed here for a week in a 3 bed share room which was great value at only NZD$25 per night (with BBH card). The room had 3 large single beds, individual bedside cabinets and reading lamps and there was plenty of space for luggage. The bathrooms are newly fitted and kept very clean, as is the kitchen. An indoor lounge area is kept computer and tv-free and has plenty of board games to play! There is a great outdoor area with BBQ, hammocks and plenty of seating. Oh and there is free wifi! It's a 15 minute walk from the city centre but worth the walk. A fantastic, friendly place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Share room great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madlymanutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
258 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

A bit pricey for a backpackers/hostel, but our twin en suite room was hotel standard and thus excellent value, with the bonus of chocolates on the pillows and fresh bread to wake up to!

Immaculately clean, enough off street parking and no stairs! Just could have been a bit close to the city centre to satisfy all our desires, but our needs were met!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

From the start this excellent hostel has been a real pleasure to deal with. I wanted a room to myself so asked for the double ensuite as I was on a combined leisure/work trip so needed to get a good night's uninterrupted sleep. When I rang quite late one evening to book, I was told that the booking couldn't be done at that point, but Anthony was very good about calling me back the next morning. They allowed me to leave some belongings over the weekend while I went to the Abel Tasman park, even though I was not staying until a couple of nights later.

Location was perfect for me as I needed to be close to the hospital. I guess it is a bit further from town than some hostels, but honestly, it's such a nice place I'd happily stay there even if I didn't need to be close to the hospital.

The hostel is friendly and has a good atmosphere. My room had a lovely comfy bed, nice bed linen and towels, and a very new bathroom. The kitchen was immaculately clean, and had the quirky bug theme mentioned by other reviewers. I had a very peaceful night's sleep.

I thought it was excellent value at $78.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.4 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.5 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#1 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.0 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
1.7 mi away
Paradiso Backpackers
Paradiso Backpackers
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Property: The Bug Backpackers
Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing