We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pizzas”

The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar
Ranked #86 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to the home of award-winning gourmet pizza in Nelson. Excite your tastebuds with our special wood-fired pizzas, be entertained by our lively atmosphere and treat yourself to a great night at The Hot Rock! Perfect for sharing with friends, or the whole family - we look forward to hosting you...
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing pizzas”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We went in with a voucher and the pizzas were amazing. Service was great, decent menu and not badly priced.

Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    39
    15
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza, friendly service”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had one pizza between two of us, which was plenty. Half chicken half vegetarian all beautiful! Great desserts as well, and fantastic service with a waiter who really made us feel welcome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peronel_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

$30 for one pizza which barely fed one adult plus one ginger beer seems exorbitant to me. Yes, the pizza tasted OK, but it wasn't exceptional, nor was it filling.

I shan't be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WLnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Beautiful seafood chowder and the beetroot soup! Lamb pizza, just right. This combined with brilliant service and clean premises made for a great night. Thank you, I hope to be back in Nelson soon for a repeat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great place, warm welcome, great service, fantastic food! And it was well priced for what it was, with good portion sizes! Fantastic evening - I highly recommend!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing