We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar
Ranked #84 of 171 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the home of award-winning gourmet pizza in Nelson. Excite your tastebuds with our special wood-fired pizzas, be entertained by our lively atmosphere and treat yourself to a great night at The Hot Rock! Perfect for sharing with friends, or the whole family - we look forward to hosting you...
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

$30 for one pizza which barely fed one adult plus one ginger beer seems exorbitant to me. Yes, the pizza tasted OK, but it wasn't exceptional, nor was it filling.

I shan't be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WLnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    15
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Beautiful seafood chowder and the beetroot soup! Lamb pizza, just right. This combined with brilliant service and clean premises made for a great night. Thank you, I hope to be back in Nelson soon for a repeat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great place, warm welcome, great service, fantastic food! And it was well priced for what it was, with good portion sizes! Fantastic evening - I highly recommend!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Ray makes the best pizzas in Nelson, he always has a smile on his face and recognised us when we came back after over 2 years. The sight of the roaring pizza oven when you walk in the door, particularly on a cold winter night, is so welcoming. Eat in or take away, the choice is yours, but you will always get a friendly welcome.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FREWENNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hand made, fire cooked pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Heaps of choice with great tasting traditional pizzas and pasta

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiflyboy205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing