We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of 404 on Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
404 on Trafalgar
Ranked #23 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Wonderful staying, a real luxury in a beautiful Art Deco building. Centrally located yet silent, good views and comfortable bed. Very spacious, clean and fully equipped with everything that you may need. I truly highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Fantastic place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97Max7397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The studio must be 90M2 - large and spacious, well beyond what one associates with studio accommodation. Furniture and furnishings definitely upmarket, The bathroom surpasses 5 star hotels I've stayed in, for both space and facilities.
Lounge area is separate from the large kitchen and dining (yes - self catering!), and bedroom nicely away from these, slightly elevated. Even wall pictures and artifacts are quality pieces. The stolid Bauhau style of exterior architecture gives no hint of the luxery within - check out the photos.
Very central - 2 minutes up the road to Melrose gardens with gracious hometead, tearooms. and function areas. And 5 minutes to town (10 if you stop off in the Cathedral enroute as I did). Proprieter Henry is very service focused. Definite Recommendation

Room Tip: The layout and only three apartmetns in the building means you dont hear others coming and going as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great place to stay - we stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment which was spotlessly clean and just lovely for a 'girls weekend away'.
Spacious living areas and bedrooms with loads of room - well equip kitchen and living area plus the bathroom was more than adequate for 5 females!
Great location to walk everywhere
Will definately stay again with the family and highly recommend
The owners live upstairs and were super helpful and nice

Room Tip: Didnt see the smaller apartments but imagine they are just as great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy2013_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great apartment, plenty of room and had the all important laundry facilities as we'd been on the road for weeks! Decor was nice and to a high standard and it had all the mod cons you need...

It's just a 5 minute walk right into the hub of the City and the restaurants and bars and that walk entails going through the grounds of the cathedral - which also means you can never get lost as you can see the spire from miles away!

We had an emergency with our car - the SD card managed to get lost under the carpet but thanks to Henry we managed to get it back with 2000 photos saved... Great people!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahameJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

nice modern apartment, polished floors, clean and bright. the hosts live on the top floor and the other apartments are for holiday rentals. we were greeted by our smiling hosts who offered info on what to do in the area and where to dine. they even offered dvds for my two young children to watch from their private collection. nice touch was the pack of tim tams in the fridge. the apartments are up the hill a short walk from the centre of town. lots of free parking on the street right outside. would definately return.
its a bit pricier than some of the the motels in the area but it is a two bedroom apartment not a one bedroom unit in a motel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in a 2br very tastefully furnished flat for 2 weeks early dec 2011. The owners are delightful, making sure we felt at home, had everything we needed (including access to their wonderful library) and knew where to go/how to get around yet giving us all the space/privacy needed. The property is very well maintained, spotless, and a very short pretty walk to the town's center.

Great value for what you get!
When back in Nelson I will stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RdV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed at 404 during each of our three visits to New Zealand in 2011, 2010 and 2009. Henry and Evie,the owners ,are friendly, helpful and welcoming and, although they live on site, are always unobtrusive.
The apartments are stylish, spacious and beautifully furnished. With convenient on-site parking, 404 is ideally located in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of Nelson centre, a gem of a town.
We would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
0.8 mi away
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 404 on Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 404 on Trafalgar

Property: 404 on Trafalgar
Address: 404 Trafalgar St, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 404 on Trafalgar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your 404 on Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing