We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palatial comfort”
Review of 404 on Trafalgar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
404 on Trafalgar
Ranked #21 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow is the best way to start! We had a magnificent time here. 404 is gloriously well appointed and excellently designed. The owners clearly haven't scrimped on any of the fixtures or fittings and accordingly the whole flat has a luxury feel.

It was a bigger, grander and better one-bedroom apartment than my own one-bedroom flat in London. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The area was very quiet and residential so a good sleep is assured! The kitchen is well appointed and beautifully clean. Check out the enormous walk in shower in the lovely modern bathroom!!

Locally there is an amazing vegetarian restaurant on the same square as the cathedral and the apartment is within a very gentle downhill walk to other bars restaurants etc. in town. Nelson itself is delightful and welcoming and with Abel Tasman National Park 30 minutes in one direction and the Marlborough wine region 90 minutes the other direction the only question to ask is: 'What possible reason could there be for NOT going!'

Highly Recommended!!

Room Tip: We received a guided tour and I can assure you that all the rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I arranged this trip for a wedding with myself and a few friends, from the start the owner (Henry) was excellent, after a little hiccup with the booking system.
Henry offered to pick us up from the airport which was very nice, the Apartment was very nice, i wish we'd had more time to stay in it ! Henry showed us the best places to eat, how to get to the markets etc.. which was very helpful, even a nice short scenic walk into town.

I would highly recommend 404 for anyone coming to Nelson for business or Pleasure.

Thank you Henry, for a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay. We had one of the downstairs apartments which is stylishly designed and extremely comfortable. Both the kitchen and bathroom are modern and extremely well-designed. It's very well located and within a short walk of the centre of town. . The owner lives on site and is unobtrusive but extremely helpful and a good source of advice on local restaurants.

Room Tip: Our downstairs apartment was within metres of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The apartment is in a quiet neighborhood of the town - but only minutes away from the entire. The apartment is modern and cool decorated with well equipped kitchen bathroom etc. the only thing we missed was a place to sit out in the evening - but we were only a 5 min walk into alisvely centre of town and enjoyed that instead. Very helpful host/owner and a great spot to be entree in a lovely NZSouth Islandtown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxmtimesharenews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed for just one night but would have booked for longer if I'd known it was as nice as this. Friendly & welcoming staff and the apartment is beautiful ( the pics I'd seen did not do this justice and there was even a packet of Tim tams in the fridge for us ) Better than the 5 star place we stayed at in Queenstown.

Just one thing... If you're using gps to get there it is on Trafalgar St South. Up behind the church.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest Nelson
Quest Nelson
#6 of 44 in Nelson
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.9 mi away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 404 on Trafalgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 404 on Trafalgar

Address: 404 Trafalgar St, Nelson, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $147 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 404 on Trafalgar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your 404 on Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing