We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We were visiting Nelson for our niece's wedding, and after the rehearsal on Friday evening, some of the family went out to the Honest Lawyer. This was our second visit, the first being about three years ago. We were very well received, and on both occasions the meal was delicious, and the service very good. Especially on the night after the wedding rehearsal, where we were a large group of clients, we were extremely well served, courteously made welcome, and everything was done to ensure we had an enjoyable meal. The live music was also very good. Will be recommended to many of our friends! Thank you.

Room Tip: To find this restaurant on TomTom, we had to look under hotels. Be advised!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwaybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

This place is hilarious. Definitely kitted out 80s style as a replica British Pub, updated with mod cons needed to make it very comfortable (new bathrooms, flat tvs, comfortable beds). Spotlessly clean and friendly service. The restaurant and bar a blast with an outdoor area - we stayed on a Sunday night so there was live acoustic music. Rooms were surprisingly and pleasantly quiet given it's a pub too.
Nicely located on the bay with a walking track just nearby - perfect if you're travelling by car but hopeless if you're not.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The service was terrible. just terrible. thier main focus is clearly the pub and we as hotel guests were treated as an inconvinience. we stayed in the rose cottage and it was comfortable and clean but it was NOT fancy and compared with other places we stayed for the same $ amount per night, it just didnt rate.

the food was good but overpriced for what it was.

on the plus side they have a guest laundry which came in handy and we had our own parking spot outside the cottage.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Service was poor, the maitre'd was to busy working behind the bar. Waited about 10 mins to even be seated. I would hate to see this place when it was actually busy. Food was average and over priced for the quality, would not recommended, pity because the location is great

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Six people shown to an empty dining room and told we could sit anywhere, but all tables seated only 4 so had to rearrange the furniture ourselves. Given two menues to share between us (no they were not busy at the time). Waitress read off a piece of paper in her hand of a long list of specials that were impossible to take on board. We had to request a wine list and when it came there were no prices on it. Asked the price of a particular bottle, she had to go away to find out but came back with the price of a glass so had to go away again to find out. Ordered a bottle, she returned with a glass! Went away AGAIN and bought a bottle but for $52 we would have expected her to at least pour our first glass!!!
The food was quite good but the cockroach scuttling along the window sill was somewhat off putting, even the waitress didn't want to get rid of it so we did! The price was a bit steep for what we got.
My advice is to go across the road to The Orangerie, you will pay a bit more but the food and most of all, the service is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahDowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights. At one time this would have been the character hotel in Nelson but now it appears a little run down. Our room was clean and comfortable with a large ensuite. Staff seemed a bit disorganised when we arrived about 3pm no one was at the bar and we had to wander around the hotel to find someone. Check in was friendly didn't sign anything was just given the key by the barman and showed the stairs. Didn't eat here but had a beer in the bar pint of Boddingtons $10! With a bit more love and attention this could be great once more

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwichickAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We booked a night here when we knew we were going to Nelson. We ended up staying 3 nights because we had such a great time. The staff were terrific, the food was fantastic and we loved our room. I can say that we had such a good time with another couple we met while we were there (helped along strongly by the barman and manager) that my head was so sore and my stomach still so seedy that I didn't know whether to laugh or cry when the barman started pouring my drink without my asking the next evening when we went down for dinner....! The location on the estuary is lovely and I would recommend taking a drive around the local area. 5 minutes up the road you'll come across a lovely glass gallery with a little coffee stand outside that makes a great place to just sit and look out over the water. The value, the food and the people made this one of the best places I have every stayed. Although I agree with MarkfromBath - get a map as it can be hard to find. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audie3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
3.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.7 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#19 of 42 in Nelson
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
713 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
135 reviews
4.3 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: 1 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: $79 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique establishment is an 'Olde Worlde' English Country Pub & Hotel situated on Nelson's Monaco Peninsula. Come and join us, relax, put your feet up and enjoy the true Honest Lawyer experience. Quench your thirst with a drink by the bar, or relish a hearty meal in our Restaurant and choose from an extensive range of wines and beers. You could choose to stay longer in our distinctive Hotel accommodation, decorated in English Country style. We also cater for Weddings, Conferences & Functions offering professional, efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing