We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveler rating
454
380
102
40
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
380
102
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish villagehonest lawyervillage greenbedroom cottageold englishonsite restaurantgas fireclose to the airportenglish stylewashing machinethe cottagesgreat pubhotel roomminute drivelounge areanew zealandlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
830 - 835 of 999 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel room was very small and, unusually for an antipodean hotel, had no refrigerator in the room. There was limited open hanging space, 4 coat hangers and only space for 1 suitcase on the case rack. As the room was small we had to dodge around the other case. The bathroom was a good one with an excellent shower. There was no air conditioning and the window opened onto the extremely well lit car park so the resultant noise and light limited the sleep we had. The reception staff were basically not interested in our comments.
The restaurant was excellent and we had a beautifully prepared dinner. The coffee at breakfast was pretty horrible.
We regretted that we had paid in advance for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footlloose31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Dear Footloose31,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel room bathroom to your liking. We appreciate your constructive feedback about the standard and layout of the room, please be assured that we have taken your comments on board.

I am deeply sorry that when you mentioned your dissatisfaction to your reception staff that the issue was not addressed, please note that this is an exception to our usual practices. I have re-highlighted to our reception team the importance of finding a suitable resolution to guest complaints, in order to prevent future occurrence. I have also passed your comments on to our chef in regards to your experience at dinner, and the quality of the coffee served.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hotel rooms in the reception block lack A/C and a fridge, but are nicely decorated. I have stayed in the larger suites, and these are much better equipped (but still no A/C).

I was very disappointed with the room service menu, they wanted to charge an added $5 for delivery, and although it stated that all mains came with a choice of veges or salad, I was told this was also an additional charge. In my view the restaurant is pretty pricey, but a nice place to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadbury64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Dear Cadbury64,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments. I am pleased to read that you liked our location and style of furnishings; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

As you have mentioned, our hotel rooms do not have fridges, however there are two guest lounges in the hotel which have fridges that our guests are welcome to make use of. As you have also noted, we also have the one bedroom studios which come equipped with kitchen facilities, including a fridge, which can be a better alternative for those requiring these amenities. We have also made a note of your suggestion to install air conditioning and will keep this in mind when planning future improvements to our property.

In regards to your experience with room service, it is important to note that the room service fee is an industry standard, and covers the additional costs of this service. It is only when dining in at our restaurant main meals come with a complimentary side of vegetables or salad. Thank you for your feedback in regards to our restaurant pricing, we do review this regularly to ensure that guests get value for money.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

a comfortable but somewhat pricey stay, the hotel had a lot of work going on outside the property during our stay which was quite noisy. the staff are very helpful and can advise on local amenities. my only real problem is the location as the hotel is a good 10 minute drive into Nelson

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loftylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Dear loftylad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our establishment, I am pleased to note that your stay was comfortable and that you found our staff to be helpful and knowledgeable.

It is unfortunate that during your stay the local council was undertaking essential road works out side our property. However I am sure you can appreciate that the work taking place and the associated noise is beyond our control. I am pleased to advise that the work has now been completed.

As you have mentioned, we are located 10 minutes drive from the Nelson city centre, a distance of 8.9km; it is a shame that our location was not suited to your needs.

I wish you well in your travels and hope that we are able to welcome you back to Nelson in the future.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage which backed on to the central "village green".
If you love the idea of feeling like you're staying in a little old English village, in a 200 year old house, and don't need to be within close proximity of anything but the airport, this is the perfect place for you.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are very small, the tiled floors are too cold for NZ, and the lounge and kitchen downstairs are very dark. Fitting with the architecture, the complex appeared to be full of retirees.
The fireplace downstairs in lovely, as is the village green area, but these are honestly the only positives I could give this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Dear MarkTBrizzy,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, it is a shame that the style and character of our property was not suited to your preferences.

We appreciate your constructive feedback about the standard of the cottage that you stayed in so that we can address the issues mentioned. Our maintenance department is looking at ways to improve the lighting in the kitchen, and we will keep your suggestions in regards to the layout of the cottages in mind when planning future refurbishments.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and I wish you the best in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews