We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$89
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$82
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
466
386
104
41
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
386
104
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish villagehonest lawyerbedroom cottageold englishonsite restaurantclose to the airportgas fireenglish stylewashing machinehotel roomthe cottagesgreat pubfour poster bedminute drivelounge areanew zealandlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
897 - 902 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The staff could not have been more helpful, the amenities were excellent, could do with a update on the furnishing but the service made up for that, beds were excellent and the bathroom fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandraaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

RECEPTION:
As a place for a wedding reception, Grand Mercure Monaco is exceptional. My husband & I had our wedding reception at the Village Hall in April this year. Right from the first go, we knew we were dealing with highly competent staff (their Conference & Events Coordinators, Chelsea & Shelley) & that took a lot of stress off our wedding planning, considering that we both live & work in Wellington & have had to organise our wedding long distance! Both their Coordinators are organised, detail oriented & have had many experiences in organizing weddings, on top of meetings & conferences. They are able to anticipate our needs & counter any problems that may arise. One of the Coordinators was present during our reception to lead her team of waiting staff. It was really reassuring to see her there! The staff are genial, friendly & helpful & it was nice to see friendly banters between our guests & the staff while they waited for their drinks at the bar. Also, the buffet was yummy & the guests really enjoyed the dinner.
If you are looking for a wedding reception venue, I highly suggest a trip to Monaco & a chat with their coordinators to see what they have to offer. There are different venues available for hire, including a marquee, depending on the style of reception you're after & the number of guests. You can hold a wedding ceremony as well on their village green. Their wedding reception package, although not the cheapest, are still very good value considering the venue & the service we received & compared to other venues we have researched.

HOTEL:
As part of the package, we were given a complimentary night's stay in one of their honeymoon cottage, including complimentary continental breakfast the next morning. We paid for an extra night's stay as part of our honeymoon holiday. The 2 story cottage is beautifully decorated & maintained in the style of an elegant country manor (think red bricks, black wrought iron, rich wood, plush furnishings), which set a beautiful atmosphere for our wedding tea ceremony. The place is quiet at night. During the day, there are occasional sounds of propeller planes taking off & landing from the airport nearby. There is a pub across the road; The Honest Lawyer, which serves very good beer & really good food! The Honest Lawyer became a popular hangout place for us & our guests. The Monaco however is a bit of a way from the rest of Nelson so a rental car is advised.
Our stay here was marred however by the hotel reception staff. Service was slow. Staff was incompetent & was instantly defensive & unfriendly when we questioned the whereabouts of the remainder of our wedding cake (we were told to collect our cake & various wedding paraphernalia on the day we check out). It took them several hours to locate & obtain access to our cake. By then, we had to leave for the rest of our honeymoon trip. Luckily for us, the in-laws were there to collect our cake for us.
Also, a few of our guests had their booking mucked up or were relayed confusing information. Luckily it was nothing too complicated to resolve quickly.
This was a shock, considering how highly competent & efficient the other staff were!

In short, Monaco as a wedding reception venue is superb; their waiting staff & their Conference & Events Coordinators are exceptionally brilliant, competent, reliable & efficient.
Couldn't say the same for their hotel reception staff I'm afraid. We're sure there are competent members of the reception staff. Just that, a few of our guests & ourselves were unlucky to encounter the one(s) that are not!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotVisaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Stayed at the Monaco Apartments for 2 nights, found these apartments to be very English 2 bed 2 bath with every thing you could wish for, with a small water stream at the back of the apartment.
The only down side we found was a very small sink in the bathroom,and I mean small,other wise we had a great time staying here.
Would recommend the pub opposite, The Honest Lawyer for a meal.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I join those who wonder who could possibly call this “New Zealand’s Best Hotel.” That is absurd. The Grand Mercure, Monaco Apartments, should more properly call itself “The Petite Mercure, Monaco Cubby Holes.” I do believe it is the tiniest hotel or motel room I have ever been shoehorned into in my life. To be sure, it is all very elegant. However, it is like staying at a very fancy country estate – in the broom closet. The bed is big enough and is comfortable. Everything was clean and well appointed. But there was only one chair in the room and it went with the desk -- that is, no couch or easy chair. You had to be in bed to watch television. The bathroom had no vanity or any other place to keep toilet articles. There was no shower stall – just a corner of the bathroom with a sliding shower curtain to surround it. There was little water pressure. The stand for hot drinks and the refrigerator were in the hall that all the rooms in that hallway must share. There was even a note on the refrigerator that instructed guests to mark their items in the refrigerator, so they won’t get mixed up with items that other people were keeping items there. The in-room internet connection was fifteen dollars a day and was very good. However, there was a limit of 500 megabytes per day use. The instructions pointed out that Skype use would consume that very quickly. After that, they charged you ten cents per minute. Can’t say I ever saw a restriction like that before. There was a small but adequate television in the room. Parking was free.

If the room had air conditioning, we never did find a thermostat. We had to keep the door and windows open to keep it tolerably cool. The room did have a door that opened onto a nice patio with a round table and four iron chairs. There was a very nice pond and shrubbery behind that. We opened the door to it and, to our surprise, a duck waddled into our room. There were a lot of ducks in the pond and they formed quite an entertainment committee. However, if you took any food item out to the patio table, a whole mob of begging ducks immediately and loudly closed in.

The Grand Mercure is not convenient to anything. Physically, it is close to the airport. In fact, it looks out on the end of the runway. Departing and arriving flights shook the room routinely, but there is no direct route to the terminal from the hotel. It is a good distance from the hotel to the terminal and figuring out how to get there over an intricate road system was not easy. Since the airport is outside Nelson proper, our road map of Nelson did not show it. We kept making dry runs to the airport until we were confident we could find it the next day in time to make our flight. The hotel was not easy to find in the first place. When we first arrived in Nelson, we drove all over the relatively small town trying to find it. We ended up stopping to ask for directions at a gas station. The lady there had to draw us a tortured map with lines all over the page to show us how to get there. It turns out that the hotel is many miles outside Nelson, way down a long, winding road outside the neighboring community of Stoke. Without assistance, we never would have found it. There are no mini-marts or other businesses close to it.

If you like cramped luxury, The Grand Mercure is for you. If you would rather exchange some of that elegance for a little breathing space and a place you can find, I suggest that you book at one of the many nice-looking motor lodges in Nelson proper.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We had a two bedroom apartment in this resort for 2 nights.

The resort is set out with stylised english country joined cottages which may appeal to some. My wife and mother thought it was quaint, however I didn't really appreciate it.

The doors are made rustic style witrh iron latches. They make a loud noise any time they are used.

It was quite windy whilst we there and the bedrooms had a lot of subsequent wind noise. You do hear the planes at 6 in the morning but that didn't really worry me too much.

The lighting downstairs was made to go with the style, but I found it very dark.

It is a fair way from the centre of Nelson and there is not too much close. However, Nelson seems fairly spreadout anyway so I am not sure that this would make much of a difference.

Previous reviewers have mentioned the Honest Lawyer opposite hoever it did not overly appeal to us and we ate on site one night. The restaurant and service were fine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews