We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$127
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$95
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $70/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$121
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutherford Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
$144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
466
386
104
41
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
386
104
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish villagehonest lawyerbedroom cottageold englishonsite restaurantclose to the airportgas fireenglish stylewashing machinehotel roomthe cottagesgreat pubfour poster bedminute drivelounge areanew zealandlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2015

When we booked this stop, we expected it to be a) Grand, b) an apartment and c) in Nelson. - however, none of these terms could actually be applied to this complex! We followed the directions to Nelson from the ferry stop in Picton, but could not find the Grand Mercure. We were told that it is just off the State Highway 6, bit no one thought to add that you cannot get off SH6 anywhere near and have to get of a long way before the Mercure and cross it by a bridge. It is actually in a little place called Monaco, which was not even on our map! It is at least ten km. outside of Nelson and a car is definitely needed.
When we did eventually arrive, it was pitch dark and nearly11pm. The receptionist finished at 11pm and so gave us a key and went home. We were not pleased to find that our apartment was not an apartment at all but a small, dark room with a even smaller ensuite and not even a fridge, although there was a fridge in the corridor which was shared by other guests. We were so tired by this time, and the receptionist had gone home, that we just crashed the first night.
In the morning, we explained that we had booked an apartment, not a small hotel room, so the receptionist moved us to a rather nice studio apartment with all of the facilities that we expected and apologised for a breakdown in communication somewhere along the line.
The whole place is set out like an English village and looks attractive for the outside, so beware, if it is an apartment that you want, make sure that is what you get!
The small outside pool was very refreshing after a day out.

Room Tip: The apartments are very much better than the small hotel type rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear Fleckney

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share these on our tripadvisor page. I am very sorry that you had difficulties in finding us, we are always more than happy to assist with directions, over the phone. We are located in Stoke, which a suburb of Nelson, and as noted on our website, is a 10-15 minute drive from the Nelson City Centre. I am very sorry that there appeared to be a mix up with your reservation, I have followed this up with our reservations team to ensure that this does not happen again. Whilst our reception does close at 11pm at night, we do have an on-site/on call manager who you will reach after hours should you require any further assistance. It is nice to read that you were able to enjoy our outdoor solar heated swimming pool.
Thank you once again for your feedback, it is with comments such as these that we are able to improve the quality of our services.

Kindest Regards
Jenna Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The front reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We had an upstairs room which was ok but having to carry the luggage upstairs was a slight inconvenience.
The accommodation was full of character. The room was on the smaller size. Unfortunately the room did not have a fridge which we would have found useful as we were on a road trip and could have used it.
There was limited free wifi although being an Accor member I had free wifi for our whole stay, however I struggled to be able to get on. It was easier to access early in the morning before everyone was wanting to use it.
We used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found the staff very friendly and the food enjoyable.

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank CMM920829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear CMM920829

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read positive comments and we appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the Standard Hotel Rooms. At Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco, we have 4 different room types to cater for different guests needs and budgets. Perhaps one of our One Bedroom Studios would have been better suited to your needs. These rooms are 50m2 and have a separate living area and a small kitchenette, therefore they are more than suitable to self-cater, for those who wish to do so.
I am really pleased that you found our Reception and Restaurant staff to be friendly and helpful, I will definitely pass your comments onto all of the team. I know that this feedback will serve as encouragement to all of our team as we are consistently striving to provide a superior service experience for each and every one of our guests.

Thank you once again.
Kindest Regards
Jenna Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2015

We stayed here the nights of November 24th and 25th of 2015 after driving in from the ferry terminal in Picton. The hotel is a little tough to find but we had a GPS unit in our rental car which was a great help. The location of the hotel is superb being right on a bay that ebbs and flows with dramatic tides. As others have mentioned, the facility is very reminiscent of an English village row house style. Very inviting, and very comfortable. We had a two-story, two bedroom unit just for the two of us. A little private garden with table and two chairs could be found out back. Front desk staff was very welcoming and very helpful in every respect. One cautionary note: the hotel caters to bus tour groups but they seemed to be allocated to the far side of the facility and did not disrupt our stay where we were situated. At dinner, however, the situation can be different. We showed up for dinner one of our evenings and there were two long tables set up for one of the tour groups. It’s a small restaurant so the potential noise factor was evident. Plus, the wait staff was playing some heavy metal music over the restaurant’s speakers so we elected to quickly leave and go across the street to a pub called The Honest Lawyer (which is quite good). Breakfasts, on the other hand were fine – delicious and peaceful although it appeared that we had just gotten finished before the tour group showed up. The day we left there were many tour buses in evidence on the side of the complex opposite our unit. All in all, however, we wished we could have stayed longer. Wonderful area and much to see. The town seems to roll up its sidewalks at 5:30PM, however. We’d wanted to visit the jeweler that created the various rings used in Lord of the Rings but he was already closed up tight. Anyway, nice hotel – plan to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the part of the hotel used by bus tour groups
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GlobalExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Dear GlobalExplorer

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments regarding our front desk team. During the summer months we do have a number of tour groups, however as you say, they are not at all disruptive to our free independent travellers. I am sorry to read that you chose to dine across the road, but understand your reasons for doing so. I am pleased that you were able to enjoy breakfast with us the following day.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are travelling to Nelson.

Kindest Regards
Jenna Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015

Great staff (special mention to Melissa and Paddy in the restaurant!), great facilities and location and lovely cottage fully equipped should you want to self cater. Well positioned to explore both the Abel Tasmin area or Nelson. Lovely view from the restaurant of the tidal beachy area over the road.

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikki291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Dear Nikki291

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. I am thrilled to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found us to be well positioned.
We certainly are lucky to have the beautiful views that we do from our on-site restaurant, The Monaco Kitchen and I am pleased you were able to enjoy this.
Thank you also for your lovely comments about Melissa and Paddy, I will be sure to pass this onto them as well as the rest of our team.

Thank you again and we certainly hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.

Kindest Regards
Jenna Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2015

This hotel is way out from the centre of Nelson but also away from any close shopping or public transport. You need your own car to make it worthwhile staying here. The English pub style is attractive from the outside and the gardens are very nice but the interior was a disappointment. It was very dark inside even with the lights on, the flag stone staircase was not suitable for an older person and the kitchen and bathroom were a joke. The kitchen shelves were hard to reach, there was no microwave and the washing machine was under the kitchen bench. The bathroom upstairs was tiny even for one person, the bathroom sink looked like an after thought after they had started building. All in all a disappointment all round. And by the way, they only run their large shuttle van for a few hours a day, good luck with that. The breakfast saved the day, typical hotel buffet but very nice in a pleasant conservatory style room. I had a two bedroom apartment, a room would have been fine but I understand they are small and have no refrigerator.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Front Office Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Dear Kiwikid0

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are built like an English style Village with 4 different room types and we understand that this is not to everyone's preference. Although we are not in the Nelson CBD, we are 5 minutes from the Nelson Airport and 10-15 minutes drive from the Nelson City Centre, we are also perfectly located en route to the wineries and the beautiful Abel Tasman National park which is a must see in Nelson.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kindest Regards
Jenna Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews