We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated, but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“dated, but comfortable”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

we arrived very late at night after driving up from queenstown. the woman at the reception desk was incredibly kind and very helpful (as were all the staff at the desk throughout our stay). our room was decent, although quite dated. we had a nice view out of our second-story room and it was close enough to nelson city centre to be able to drive back and forth easily. the room was fairly clean, although we had a cockroach on the wall one night, which wasn't happy. breakfast was overpriced, so we went elsewhere.

overall, ok room, great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear whitcard
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our tripadvisor page. I am really pleased to read that you found the reception team to be kind and helpful, I will pass these comments onto them as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all as we continuously strive to improve the quality of our service. The hotel was built between 2004 and 2007 and was designed to look like an old English Village, I appreciate that this look may not appeal to everyone and therefore I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel being dated. I am really sorry to read that you found a bush roach in your unit, with all the wind we have had this summer, they tend to fly in from the Richmond hills up behind the resort. I have however passed this on to our Housekeeping Manager for her to follow up on.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    346
    95
    34
    19
See reviews for
178
478
42
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I arrived at 8pm after driving from the ferry at Picton and given our room upstairs but we walked in and thought we were back in time as it was for us gloomy and old fashioned with furnishing and no air con. I went to reception who listened and acted immediately by explaining there was no air con in the resort at all even though I booked through my Accor Advantage. They showed me another room down stairs which was a delight and opend up onto the lawn and gardens. This turned around guests who wouldn't come back to guests who rate the hotel and staff very highly. I would suggest the downstairs facing the gardens and not the road. The front office staff are probably the best we have come Cross in in current 5 hotels visit in NZ. The restaurant food is exceptional but the service does need to be polished and staff trained in what it's al about. It's not great look leaving dirty and unfinished meal plates on the table for others to see.

Room Tip: The room I rated excellent based on the ground floor we had and not upstairs that have no balcony. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear David S
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Our Standard Hotel Rooms are our lead in room type and are more suited to those travellers who are only staying for a short time. The One Bedroom Studios are better if you are travelling for more than one night of prefer more room to spread out and relax. I am really pleased to read that the receptionist acted quickly and was able to offer you a One Bedroom Studio to make your stay more comfortable and in turn you rate the hotel and staff very highly, that’s a great result so thank you very much for passing on this wonderful feedback!
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food at the Orangerie Restaurant; I will pass on your constructive feedback regarding the service in the Orangerie as without this feedback we do not have the opportunity to improve on our service. Thank you for rating your stay the best you have had out of the 5 hotels you stayed at, we really appreciate your wonderful comments and hope that you will return to the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Upon arriving in Nelson after a 5 hour drive you would think any hotel would be a welcoming sight, but we didn't expect the level of charm and sophistication of this hotel, especially at the rate we got ($150 online booking). While the room was small, it made up for it with elegant styling and features like hooks for hanging, an ironing board behind a mirror, and other things neatly tucked away that you would normally expect but in a bigger room. You can easily obtain Internet, hire bikes, do your laundry or get your jewellery cleaned even. The hotel restaurant was lovely also, if not a little expensive. we didn't mind the ten minute drive into town either. Lovely hotel for cheap rates (find one online).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMull2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear SMull2014
Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your fabulous feedback! I am really glad to read that you were able to find such a great deal online and that you found the room to be elegant and well designed with all the required features. I am also pleased to read that you thought the Orangerie Restaurant was lovely, I will be sure to share all your wonderful comments with the rest of our team, it is always such a pleasure to receive such lovely comments.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Cute one bedroom apartments.

Nice kitchen and laundry.

Poor selection of NZ channels only of TV and no DVDs to rent.

Tricky parking at night when you return after 9 or 10 to find a spot.

Really really crazy wifi policy. That needs to be included this day in age. It was really bad.


All the cardio equipment in the gym said out of order (3 out of 4). Should be kept up.

Good location to town but you need a car. Nice back yard and right near the airport. You can hear the planes.

Fantastic front of the house staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Triplovers1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Triplovers1151
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your constructive feedback about the TV channels and the internet policy. Our One and Two Bedroom Cottages have DVD players and we have a selection of DVD’s at reception.
We appreciate your comments regarding the cost of using internet at the hotel. While this is definitely our long term goal unfortunately due to the current cost of supplying internet to our guests and our recent upgrade to WIFI it is not something we are able to currently offer. In the meantime we do have a computer at reception that we offer complimentary internet for our guest’s during their stay and we also have some special packages that include internet deals at the time of booking on several websites.
At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will exceed your expectations.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We loved staying here. It felt luxurious. I loved the furnishings and fittings, in character with the complex, so very comfortable. We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit overlooking the village green. It was so quiet, unaware if anyone was next door or not. Used the pool and the gym. The staff were just lovely and friendly. I would highly recommend this place if you would like a bit of a treat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mary J
Thank you for choosing the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco for your recent stay in Nelson, I am really pleased to read your glowing review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the character of the resort and that it felt luxurious, this is an admirable compliment and I appreciate you recommending us to others. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Nelson.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had the studios for the first 3 nights and a 2 bedroom cottage for the last night. Cute accommodation. Comfortable beds and very clean bathrooms. The staffs are super lovely (especially Sharon and Michelle). Very close to the airport (we had to pick up people from the airport and could easily walk there and back).

I had a massage at 'About Beauty' - I think the therapist's name was Mel - she was amazing, the best massage I had in 2013. Lisa who was the director at the salon was wonderful too and did a lovely job trying to organise a massage for me with short notice.

Room Tip: Upstairs units are much brighter and the bathrooms are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Ashley_Sydney
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our tripadvisor page. I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I will pass your wonderful comments onto the rest of the team, especially Michelle and Sharyn, I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic massage and we really do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Beautiful accommodations with excellant staffing. Praised this resort as a 4 as there is very little space for storing clothing having to leave clothing in suitcase. Everything else about this resort is a 5+.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear JAM1109,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we appreciate your comments in regards to storage which we will be sure to look into.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Nelson.


Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing