We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, thoroughly enjoy the visit and felt it was excellent value.
Th e whole development is large and based on a British style village including cobbles, village signs and its very own small upmarket shops.
Our room was not large but very well presented in every way. We overlooked a small village style pond with very friendly ducks! Our one minor moan was the level of lighting. The bulbs were 40v and far too low for reading. A little research could solve this glitch easily.

We ate in the restaurant which had a great ambiance. The staff were excellent and we enjoyed the meal very much.

This hotel was very good value and was in fact the same price as a bed ans breakfast accommodation we stayed at the night before...there was no comparison. A pleasant first class experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steadieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear SteadieNZ
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments regarding your recent with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the English look of the resort as well as your room and your dining experience in the Orangerie Restaurant and found your stay to be excellent value. I have passed your comments regarding the lighting onto our Maintenance Manager who has already started to look into this issue. Thank you again for your lovely comments, I will be sure to pass these onto all of our team and we really hope to be able to welcome you back to the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 943 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

From the moment you arrive - the old English buildings delight - your needs are taken care of - friendly staff - beautiful rooms and outstanding food. Whether business or holiday - you will not be disappointed with your stay. Well priced rooms and exceptional value for the incredible delights chef will prepare. Friendly staff only a phone call away.

Room Tip: All of the rooms will delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mons42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Mons42
Thank you for your fantastic comments about our hotel and restaurant, it is really appreciated. I will pass these on to our team as they enjoy receiving feedback. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had booked a room in the hotel and was disappointed in the size as we had 2 nights here and it would have been very cramped. However we asked about upgrades and were shown the beautiful cottages at a very reasonable price. This was worth it, it turned out to be the best stay in a 3 week trip. No detail has been missed in this Old English concept, cosy sitting room with real fire (gas) 4 poster bed upstairs, and huge bathroom with corner spa bath. Luxury on a cold night. The little courtyard with seating catches the afternoon sun and is adorned with climbers giving off a wonderful aroma. The reception staff are welcoming and friendly putting you at ease after a long trip. For something a little different to the normal hotel this is a must.

Room Tip: Go for the 2 storey cottage, it can't fail to impress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Wendy F
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our One Bedroom Spa cottage. They are lovely cosy rooms, and are just like your own little house so they are definitely worth the upgrade fee. It is also great to hear that our staff were helpful during your stay and I will pass your kind comments on to them.
Thank you again for sharing your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff are always very welcoming at Monaco. I stay here every few months and have never had a bad experience in over five years. Everyone from the front desk, cleaners to the wait staff are friendly and do all they can to make each stay a very enjoyable experience.
The hotel rooms are really small - it's well worth upgrading to an apartment or cottage.
The pool is fantastic in the summer - haven't tried the spa yet - maybe next trip.
The food and staff in the restaurant are second to none. The food is absolutely fantastic and while it is fine dining - I don't leave hungry.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are really small - it is well worth up grading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Tim H
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us whenever you are in Nelson and we truly appreciate your continued loyalty.
Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Invercargill, New Zealand
71
Reviewed July 23, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay and value for money. Good to see a new flat screen finally. Good service that evening. Breakfast from restaurant average but used to be really nice. Always stay here now and good value for money. Will come back can always done elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Nothercross

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments about our hotel on Tripadvisor and thank you for continuing to stay with us when you visit Nelson. I appreciate your comments about our upgraded flat screen TVs in the hotel rooms and our restaurant. We do offer an a la carte menu as well as a buffet breakfast for guest’s who would like different options for breakfast. I will also pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage Manager to follow up.

Thank you again for your excellent feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We travelled as two couples and stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. This worked out as real value for money. Clean, comfortable and warm, it suited our needs perfectly. We used the kitchen which was well equipped. The old English style concept of the whole place is really well done. It does need a little care in getting to the complex as you cannot turn straight off the main highway. Don't miss the Wearable Art and Classic car museum which is very close.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments with your fellow travellers on Tripadvisor. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our two bedroom, two bathroom cottages and that you found the kitchen to be well equipped. I am also really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our English look and you were able to visit the lovey World of Wearable Art and Classic Car Museum which is only minutes from us. Thank you for your comments regarding the complexity of finding us, we have amended our hotel maps showing more clear directions so we hope that this will help future guests to find us more easily.
Thank you again for your wonderful comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back one day in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
688 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.3 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
157 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $60 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing