We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cannons Creek
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Loved the One room cottage with all the necessary things needed to have an independent stay, very nice would recommend it to any one, a Little out of the City of Nelson you do need transport.
One complain, why charge for the Internet?

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoy the one Bedroom cottage. We are situated just out of Nelson City and for those heading into the Abel Tasman National Park it is the perfect location however we do recommend that you have your own transport if you are staying with us for multiple nights as there is so much to see and do in our lovely region. We appreciate your constructive feedback about our internet charges, please be assured that we have taken your comments on board. Thanks again for sharing your lovely comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back on your next trip to Nelson.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    346
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
178
477
42
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are feeling homesick for England, stay here! It's traditional in so many ways - village green, cobbled walkways, climbing roses. All so quaint. Rooms are comfortable but dark due to small windows. We had a one bedroom with kitchen & very comfortable armchairs, table & chairs overlooking the green area. Staff very pleasant & helpful. Location is a little out of town but apparently they have a very helpful shuttle service. We had car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. The hotel was developed with the English look in mind and I am so glad to hear that you appreciate the style and enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your comments onto all of our staff. We do offer an airport shuttle service and are also happy to transport our guests to and from the city during normal working hours.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our stay was very nice, we got upgraded from a standard room to a fully-equipped apartment, which was very nice. Bedroom, Bathroom and Kitchen/Dining room are very spacious, very well equipped. The room had 2 large LCD TVs (one for the bed, one for the dining room) with Sky and Sky Sports, nice to unwind with a glass of wine after a long day driving!

The hotel also has a pool, a hot tub and a small gym with a few free weights, treadmill, bike, rowing machine, a nice addition that you don't necessarily see in a lot of places in that price range.

We haven't tried out The Orangerie restaurant, the menu looked nice but a little bit pricey, so we opted for making our own dinner and own breakfast, which was made easy by having the fully equipped kitchen...great to save money on a long trip!

We only stayed one night in the Monaco Grand Mercure, as a stop on our route towards to West Coast, so I cannot say much about things around the hotel because we didn't get time to look around Nelson at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PVinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I rarely write reviews, with that said, the Grand Mercure and their staff are worth writing about. We stayed two nights, one of the nights in the nicest room we have ever stayed on any trip. Room 1. We took a lot of pictures on our vacation in New Zealand, 15 of them were of the interior of room 1. Sounds a bit crazy, but this room was great. Looks like an old English cottage.

The staff at Grand Mercure could not have been more helpful, considerate and kind. Having access to the computer to make additional flight reservations and an outside phone line were beneficial. Everyone on staff was great, we took a few names to list, however, compliments to all.

This is one hotel you should stay at if in Nelson.

Room Tip: Choose room #1 if possible, It's right off the lobby, no noise from lobby after 10pm and worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9seeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely comments, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodation in room 1, it is definitely something different and very special. I am also happy to read that you were able to take advantage of our free internet kiosk located at reception. I will share your comments with our team as I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future and thank you again for your lovely comments.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

stayed in Dec 2012. huge room with well-equipped kitchen. simply beautiful grounds, well-kept gardens with a very nicely set restaurant 'The Orangerie' overlooking a pond. Ducks & swans roam at free will.
simply beautiful sunset view at the main lobby by the pond.
Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to Nelson & would love to come back for another stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninie_MZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very lucky to be situated where we are with the beautiful views of the Waimea Inlet. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy and appreciate our grounds and even the ducks which are so well looked after by all of our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments with my mother on a quick trip to Nelson for a wedding. We stayed in a two bedroom Riverside Cottage which was absolutely delightful. The cottage was well equipped with hot plates (no oven), microwave, washing machine, dishwasher, crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils, as well as the standard kettle, iron, etc. All the fittings and finishes appeared to be of the highest quality. The gas fireplace was beautiful - it was just a shame we stayed in February when we didn't need to use it! Both bedrooms had their own en suite bathrooms - perfect for us both to get ready for the day at the same time!

We enjoyed a superb dinner at the onsite restaurant "The Orangerie". All staff there were very friendly and happy to give us directions to places we needed to go.

The resort is easy to find and about 15-20 minutes drive from Nelson CBD. It is close to Nelson Airport - you can hear the planes during the day but it is quiet and peaceful at night.

Highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that the room and our staff met your expectations and I will definitely pass your lovely comments onto all of our team. We hope to be able to welcome you back in winter so that you will be able to enjoy the fire place. Thank you again for your lovely comments, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing