We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay in Nelson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in Nelson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments with my mother on a quick trip to Nelson for a wedding. We stayed in a two bedroom Riverside Cottage which was absolutely delightful. The cottage was well equipped with hot plates (no oven), microwave, washing machine, dishwasher, crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils, as well as the standard kettle, iron, etc. All the fittings and finishes appeared to be of the highest quality. The gas fireplace was beautiful - it was just a shame we stayed in February when we didn't need to use it! Both bedrooms had their own en suite bathrooms - perfect for us both to get ready for the day at the same time!

We enjoyed a superb dinner at the onsite restaurant "The Orangerie". All staff there were very friendly and happy to give us directions to places we needed to go.

The resort is easy to find and about 15-20 minutes drive from Nelson CBD. It is close to Nelson Airport - you can hear the planes during the day but it is quiet and peaceful at night.

Highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased that the room and our staff met your expectations and I will definitely pass your lovely comments onto all of our team. We hope to be able to welcome you back in winter so that you will be able to enjoy the fire place. Thank you again for your lovely comments, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    335
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
174
467
41
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was english style cottages. They upgraded us for free to the 2 bedroom cottage. It was cute and quaint. And the restaurant the orangerie was amazing. We ate there both nights, and it was some of the best food that we had on our trip. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was a plesant surprise, spacious apartments, lovely grounds. A little out of the Nelson CBD, but not a problem if you have a car and much nicer than staying in a tower block type of hotel which would be the alternative.

Room Tip: the river cottages have a nice little patio, recommend over the village green
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is quite different but in such a good way with the layout very english cottage. The apartment type rooms are very large with separate bedrooms and lounge. The bathrooms had been upgraded and were very decent. The complex has a very nice pool and gym area. But the best thing has to be the on-site restaurant which we used for a business dinner. The food and service were simply excellent with a great selection of both food and wine. The staff at both the hotel and restaurant were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay very welcoming. Definitely will be back here for my next stay in Nelson.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. We are always very pleased to receive such wonderful comments.
I am glad you enjoyed the cottage style accommodation and the facilities we have to offer. I will definitely pass your comments onto all our staff and in particular the food and beverage staff who will be delighted to receive such positive feedback. I am sure that this feedback will serve as encouragement to all our staff as we are constantly striving to improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for your lovely comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have enjoyed staying here 3 times, the cottages are beautiful, each one named after a rose surrounding a village green .they are very clean beautifully furnished, service is wonderful the staff are always pleasant , polite and helpful, I recommend sitting by the duck pond and watching the stunning sunset over the Tasman sea. Fantastic beaches in nelson just a 10 minute drive away, great place to base yourself for a trip to Abel Tasman only 45 mins away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilkotrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Sitting out by the ducks watching the sunset is tranquil and very relaxing, I am glad to hear you have been able to enjoy this on a number of occasions and we hope that you will continue to stay with us on your future trips to Nelson.
Thank you again for sharing your lovely comments.

Kindest Regards
Clare Davies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
#20 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing