We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, handy to airport, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights on a weekend. I'd echo the comments of other reviewers - we enjoyed our stay here. Great service from the staff, especially in the restaurant (which was reasonably priced and nice food). We enjoyed the spa pool too - worth the walk. Agreed with another reviewer that the beds were a bit softer than I'd like. The bathrooms were modern and attractive. To me, the interior decore was a bit of a strange mix of Olde English and other styles - not a big problem when you are asleep.
Handy to the airport, but note that the road route between is a bit of a loop (maybe 3 km). Didn't find the airport noise a problem (it's not a terribly busy airport) and the planes added some interest. An easy drive into Nelson. The pub just across the road is worth a look (especially if you are looking for a more basic meal).

Room Tip: Basic room (with double bed) was quite small - OK if like us you don't mind small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hrpmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and received great service from our Team in The Orangerie Restaurant.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore guest feedback is very important to us. It is through guest feedback that we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and I will be sure to pass your terrific comments onto all of our Teams.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 944 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

As a solo male traveller keeping costs low I didn't expect much.....this was luxury! Such a big, nice, well appointed room! So annoyed I was only there for 1 nite as I had to leave early next day. Cannot rate this place high enough!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank El-Pearso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor feedback of your recent stay with us at Grand Mercure Nelson Apts.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms big, nice and well appointed. It is a shame you were only able to stay the 1 night, however you are welcome back any time!
We are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a 2 bedroomed cottage which we booked through hotel.com at a special rate of $146 per night (normally around $250 I think). The complex was very picturesque - very reminescent of our time spent in England. A real credit to the designers. Cottage extremely comfortable (bed a little on the soft side for my liking, but was a very small inconvenience) and roomy - 2x ensuite a real bonus in the mornings!! Breakfasted @ the Orangerie restaurant - A+++ Would not hesitate to recommend this resort to others looking for quality accommodation in the Nelson area. Very close proximity to WOW and Classic Car museum. Many thanks for such an enjoyable stay - was quite the highlight of our trip around Marlborough and Tasman area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwichick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and sharing this with your fellow travelers.

I am positively delighted to read you have thoroughly enjoyed our English Village feel and actually felt like you were in England. We are very proud of our Village atmosphere; picturesque gardens and overall design.

It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments regarding your breakfast experience at The Orangerie Restaurant onto our Restaurant Manager to share with all of her team.

At Grand Mecure Nelson Apts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and I am sure these wonderful comments will serve as encouragement to us all.

Thank you once again, and we will look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wow, this place will take your breath away. It's like a little English village. Staff were all very helpful and the room itself was perfect with great views. We ate in the onsite restaurant twice. The dinner we had was world class and the restaurant was run very well with very with friendly waiters and waitresses. We also had breakfast which was also top class, everything on offer was fresh and cooked well. Also the ducks in the river\ lake\ moat at the side of the restaurant are a star attraction, very a,musing to watch whilst enjoying our breakfast. We def recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and sharing these with your fellow travelers.

I am absolutely delighted you have thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at our Restaurant; The Orangerie. I will be sure to pass your comments regarding the terrific service you received onto our Restaurant Manager who will share this with all of her team.

At Grand Mecure Nelson Apts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I am sure these wonderful comments will serve as encouragement to us all.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will again exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealand9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had booked a basic room on line due to the cheap price offered, but on arrival found it far too small for the two nights we planned. An offer of a two level appartment ,with the expected accompanying extra cost , turned out to be the best decision we ever made. WOW !, It has everything you need and far more. Gas log fire in the comfortable lounge,luxury granite faced bathroom with spa and even a bidet. A totally fitted out kitchen, dishwasher and all, plus clothes washer machine. A walk-in ward robe, and superlative bed. . The best accommodation of it's category we've ever had . The large complex is surrouned with beautiful gardens and ponds, with tidal estuary across the road. And the restaurant also excellent. What more can I say. Come here!

Room Tip: Ask to see whats on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and your thoughts regarding your room move into one of our Summerhouse One Bedroom Cottages with Spa. I am delighted your thoroughly enjoyed your room.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our room was a nice enough hotel bedroom with good bathroom facilities but very limited for self catering. Think pottering off down the corridor to fetch butter from a communal fridge before spreading it onto bread on a saucer with the back of a teaspoon! We liked the location - close to the airport and we also liked the proximity to the sea with a walk up the peninsula. The Orangerie was an excellent restaurant - especially the trio of puddings - with very helpful and friendly staff who took an interest in us and made suggestions of things to do. Was a bit taken aback to find the hotel added an extra 1.5% charge to our dinner bill for paying with a credit card - no other restaurant did this during our entire stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heathermw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and sharing this with your fellow travellers. It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback and we appreciate your comments. If you do return to the Hotel in the future I believe our One Bedroom Studio Units would be more suitable to your requirements as these have separate living and dining areas, large wardrobe, and a small kitchenette.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable time in our Restaurant and I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto all of our staff. Regarding the credit card surcharge the use of credit cards attract a higher cost then other payment methods.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is through guest feedback that we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
689 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
4.3 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
157 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $60 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing