We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Overseas friends and I stayed here for 5 nights in January. I booked this hotel as I lived in Nelson for many years and watched its development from a patch of scrubby wasteland to what it is now. I was keen to try it out! It really is lovely. "Olde English" may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it is tasteful and welcoming, with extra features, such as the large lounge area. My only grizzle really would be the low level lighting in the rooms. I know that it's Accor policy to be green and I applaud that, but I don't know that eco-lightbulbs are quite enough to read by! Meals were good at the adjacent restaurant, The Orangerie. Monique and the other young women at reception offered quite exceptional service. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am delighted that you have found our Hotel tasteful and welcoming. We are very proud of our ‘Olde English’ feel and I love that you enjoyed your meal in The Orangerie Restaurant. I will be sure to pass your comments onto all of our Teams.

I am pleased that you have found Monique and our other Reception staff professional and that they offered exceptional service. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 958 reviews

An Accor traveler
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1
Reviewed February 1, 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. Firstly the pros

- the apartment itself was great, spacious with a large clean bathroom
- we got a free upgrade (but in hindsight that might have been to do with something in the cons section....)
- the service was friendly and professional

Cons
- it is in the middle of nowhere. Now there's not a lot they can do about this, but for people looking to book make sure you realise that it's about 8km out of town. This means you will need a car as there is NO public transport anywhere near.
- you are stuck with two dining options if you feel like having a bottle of wine with dinner. The onsite restaurant looks ok (didn't eat there) or the pub across the road which is nice, but is pretty standard pub fare.
- they had a wedding here the second night we were here. And it got VERY loud. I don't think it was the revellers fault, but the way the hotel is set up rather. If we'd been in one of the initial rooms we were supposed to be in I don't think we could have got to sleep till after 12:30 when the wedding finished. As it was, our room was well away from the celebrations and we were still inconvenienced by this.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell your fellow travellers about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts. I am sorry that your overall experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Thank you for your comments regarding our location. Although we are not located directly in the city centre we are however ideally situated for guests wanting to view our wonderful region with the WOW Museum just around the corner and only minutes to beautiful wineries and vineyards. We are close to Richmond Mall and on route to the wonderful Abel Tasman National Parks’ main highway.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is through guest feedback that we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We appreciate you sharing your comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

For our stay we were upgraded from the room in the main hotel to a two bedroom cottage. It was in general very clean and well appointed although I think you would struggle to cook a meal for four in the kitchen if you were self catering. All the rooms were large but the 'cottage style' meant that the downstairs was quite dark. Both bedrooms were large doubles each with a good ensuite. For both (mid week) nights we were staying there were weddings happening in the grounds. The music from the recpetion was quite loud even though we were the other side of the complex from the marquee so having the window open at night was noisy. The hotel is positioned between Nelson and Richmond meaning that a car is a necessity. All in all a good out of town option but the country cottage style was not for us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and sharing your feedback with your fellow travellers.

Thank you for your comments regarding the noise from the wedding you experienced during your stay. My apologise that you have found it noisy. During the summer months our Hotel does play host to many weddings as we are such a fabulous venue for a memorable day for any bridal couple.

At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is through guest feedback that we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we do hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had excellent service in the restaurant. Although the rooms are a little dated they were very quiet and had everything that one could need. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious and comfortable. We would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanetteAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and sharing this with your fellow travelers.

I am pleased you had excellent service in the Restaurant. At Grand Mercure Monaco Apartments we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and I will be sure to pass on your comments to all of our Teams.

It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we will look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I've stayed at Monaco at least 1/2 dozen times - and have stayed in hotel rooms through to their 2 bedroom cottages. I've also had work off sites there.

The whole place is pretty amazing, and very unique in New Zealand.

Check in is fantastic, rooms are stunning, spacious and well appointed. It is the perfect places for couples to stay for a romantic weekend.The restaurant is appropriately high end, but the Honest Lawyer pub across the road caters more to the middle part of the market.

The one down side is that the resort caters to weddings. These tend to occur on Saturday and Sundays. Very nice seeing bridal parties all around the resort for their photos.

Unfortuntately though, the wedding receptions occur in the marquee, and whilst they seem to have a noise cut off of 11:30pm, until this time you can expect to feel like you are at the reception, regardless of where in the resort you are staying. The loud music permeates the entire resort - there is no escape. No big drama, but not the greatest if you are trying to have a romantic evening, or have to rise early on Monday for travel/work.

The resort does put a flyer in your room during the day, alerting you to the evenings events, but of course, you can't do anything about it.

The online website for the resort doesn't have real time access to vacancy info, so you could well be booking a type of room that has long sold out. They'll call you and sort other options though.

For those with young kids - the floors tend to be paving stones/tiles and are extremely hard. Not great for those who are learning to get around or starting to walk. This includes the bedrooms - anyone rolling out of bed will roll onto a very hard floor.

At the end of the day though, the place raises the bar of what a hotel/resort should be like.

Room Tip: Check carefully on what each type of room offers as there is a difference across the categories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickLanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers. We appreciate your comments.

It is always a pleasure to receive guest feedback and it is through this feedback that we continuously strive to improve the quality of our services.

I will be sure to pass your comments onto all of our Teams and hope to welcome you back again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed two nights (one being Old Year's Eve). We asked for an upstairs one bed flat and had a nice view over the "village green". A nice touch was the radio set on a classical radio station, as we walked into the room it made for a pleasant welcome. Very clean, spacious with all you could want: microwave, washer/dryer, coffee plunger etc.
We were pleasantly surprised by the quietness of the whole complex. We had dinner two nights in a row at the restaurant and enjoyed both occasions. On checking out I asked whether I could buy a bottle each of the shampoo and conditioner (which worked wonders with my hair) and was promptly obliged. I found the reception staff to be very efficient, even in peak times. All in all this hotel is one of the best in NZ. As an older couple we enjoyed the armchairs in the lounge area and the small table and chairs were perfect for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2012

I am delighted you had such a wonderful experience with us at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apts and that you chose to tell your fellow travellers about it.

We very much appreciate your positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments regarding our terrific Reception Team and their efficiency onto them and the rest of our magnificent Teams.

We love receiving positive feedback and we thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
702 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
401 reviews
4.3 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: $81 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing