We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Kirwee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MONACO”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

A lovely place. Nice buildings and very good, well equipped rooms. Very clean. We didn't use the restaurant but only because we needed to eat with locals at their places. We look forward to using this place again - this was our first use.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndsayandLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear Kirwee,

It is great to read that your first stay with us was enjoyable, and that you found your accommodation well equipped. I will pass on your positive comments to our house keeping team; this will no doubt serve as encouragement to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Nelson for future stays, and hope that they will be as enjoyable as the last.

Kind regards,
Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    346
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
178
477
42
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Was really impressed with the hotel. Amazinf Decor. Fantastic location!! Felt like I was back in London. Would definitely stay there next time we are in Nelson. Fell in love with the whole setting. Stayed with my husband and youngest son. Would love to share the experience with out other 3 son's.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed here as we are Adcantage Plus members and we able to take advantage of a complimentary night's stay. So I can't really comment on the value for money as for us it was obviously great value. The receptionist was quite helpful and put us in a lovely room overlooking the duck pond and the bay. Was a bit surprised at no air con, but having opening windows was a bonus, and as it was cool the lack of air conditioning wasn't a concern. However there was minimal room for baggage (normal hotel style room), no fridge and no wine glasses. Had to treck to the restaurant to ask for an ice bucket. Unfortunately they were all out so we had to make do with a carafe of ice and, as we didn't realize there were no wine glasses in the room until we got back with ice, the glasses from the bathroom. Having said all that, the bed was comfortable, quiet and the bathroom in our unit was very grand. A lovely bonus was being able to relax in a comfy chair in the reception lounge and read - great when your partner is watching the footy.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear FionaBL,

It is great to read that you were able to take advantage of your free nights accommodation as an Advantage Plus member, and that you enjoyed your stay in one of our hotel rooms. As a result of your feedback we now provide wine glasses in both of the hotel guest lounges which we hope will improve our guests experience with us. I have noted your suggestion of having a fridge in the hotel rooms and also your comments regarding the storage available. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, as this is how we are able to improve our service to our guests.

Kind regards,
Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Hotel is beautifully laid out in an English village style, complete with 'village green' and climbing roses. We were given a warm and friendly welcome when checking in two hours early, a welcome relief after an dawn flight. Our one-bedroom unit was spacious with full kitchen facilities, a large bathroom, dining table and chairs and comfortable lounge. The L'Orangerie restaurant served a full breakfast (hot and cold) with pleasant staff and a wonderful view. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again and thoroughly recommend it. We purchased a discount voucher which included breakfast and a bottle of wine which made our stay extra affordable - a bonus!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Oago, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Our family enjoyed the 2 bedroomed cabin and the double shower ! The unit was tastefully furnished and had comfortable beds. We enjoyed our buffet breakfast and welcomed the umbrella in our unit as it was pouring with rain when we went to breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrylassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear Heriot,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay on Trip Advisor, it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our two bedroom cottages to your liking. I have passed on your positive feedback in regards to your breakfast to our restaurant manager.

Kind regards,
Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

It had everything. The cottage was split level with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs and the kitchen and tv downstairs. This has to be one of the best places i have stayed. THe room was huge and very cosy. The spa is one of the biggest I have seen in an apartment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaspianJVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.6 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
479 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 41 in Nelson
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing