We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Great place to stay with excellent service. A good location, though a bit far from town without a car, but if you enjoy walking its very pleasant. Room very comfortable and being upgraded was icing on the cake. Thank you for the pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear malanda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, as you have mentioned, we are situated 8.9km from the Nelson city centre, and having your own transport is a good idea for guests wishing to explore the Nelson area. I hope that your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    329
    94
    32
    19
See reviews for
171
454
40
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Loved the quaint village feel
We were ready for a quiet little place, where we could escape and relax, and Monaco Hotel and Resort was just the place. The suites are very spacious, and have been lovingly decorated with English charm and character. The kitchens are well stocked; they even have a washer in them, so handy on a long trip like ours. We were very comfortable, and even sad to leave after our 3 night stay. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear littleworld,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I am pleased that you found the style of our property to your liking and that the facilities in your cottage suited your needs. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to us all as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March. Great apartment with fully functional kitchen and small fridge. Nice new bathrooms, decor a little old fashioned but in keeping with the village. We had a wedding here on the Saturday night, definately stay here if you have to attend a wedding here. Wedding was beautiful! The Honest Lawyer pub accross the road is great too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbellaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on our 3 week trip around the South Island of NZ. This hotel is out of town which suited us as we wanted to visit Kaiteriteri and travel south the next day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant where the food was lovely and the service good. Upstairs there is the bedroom with a lovely big bathroom with plenty of room. Down stairs the kitchenette is fully equiped. The lounge furniture is rather in need of refurbishment and the outside setting was unusable. The outside chairs were so worn they looked as if you would fall through if you sat on them and were covered in cobwebs.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryripe_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear cherryripe_9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco stay - as it is only through guests such as yourself who take the time to share their experience that we are able to constantly monitor and improve our guest experience.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your two bedroom cottage and that you had a lovely meal in our restaurant. I have passed your comments about the furniture in the cottage to our house keeping team, and I have had our maintenance department assess the safety and presentation of our outdoor furniture.

Thank you again for your feedback, I hope that you will come to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

It was a pleasant stay. I liked the fact that the hotel advises you when there is a party at the function area and there will be loud music.

We enjoyed the meal at the restaurant. The service and food for the evening meal was good but breakfast was a let down. The selection was minimal for the price we had to pay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Auckland,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am glad you appreciate our efforts to inform guests of any functions we are holding in order to minimise disruption.
I have passed on your comments in regards to your experience at our restaurant to our restaurant manager. It is great that you enjoyed your meal, and we will consider your comments in about the breakfast when planning improvements to this service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments; I hope that we will be able to welcome you to Nelson again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Nelson is a pretty albeit busy town. We had a little trouble finding our motel but were very impressed with how it was set out. It really did remind me of a quaint English village. There were 2 negatives for us. One was the absence of a fridge which very much surprised us, the other was the lack of space for suitcase storage...it too was completely absent! Apart from this we would recommend this motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibeldinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, General Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear gibeldinetraveller,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We welcome all guest feedback and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco in the very near future.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and providing feedback on the design of the hotel room and regarding refrigeration. We do have a number of fully self contained cottages with full kitchen facilities; however we appreciate your comments regarding this we will definitely consider this in our forward planning of refurbishments. We are constantly striving to provide excellent service and your comments are much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Clare Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
4.3 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.1 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Property: Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nelson
#3 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing