We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest backpacker in Nelson”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Backpackers

Aurora Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aurora Backpackers
Ranked #34 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheapest backpacker in Nelson”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had to stay in Nelson for just one night because of the departing times of the coachlines and chose the cheapest backpacker in town.. Even though there were some nice people around, the facilities and hygiene of that hostel were just bad. I had a really uncomfortable sleep that night and was always scared some of my things could be stolen.
The "included breakfast" consisted of some Budget flakes and the cheapest milk..

Room Tip: All rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    8
    13
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
13
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed for one night, very small rooms with !heaps! of people in. In the morning we packed our stuff took it out of the room and quater to 10 (10am is regular checkout time everywhere else) while i was smoking a cig on the balcony and my mate took a shower the manager came out and asked me quite harsh to leave checkout time has passed (he didn't told any of us before). He knocked at the door of the shower where my mate was in and told him he is charging extra fee if he is not gone within five minutes. Tells for itself. Quite surprising for a hostel advertising as Nelsons friendliest Backpackers. The place has an Internet Cafe downstairs where Backpackers get special offer. If you ask me the two dollars other hostels cost more are defenitly worth it. Even though this hostel has a good location right in the city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nelson hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile


We have been travelling quite a lot around NZ, and it was the worst place we stayed : very small room, not very clean toilets and bathrooms.
The kitchen was alright.
But what was more striking is the people who were staying there : a lot of long stay people, some of them quite old or quite strange.
We did not feel a very nice atmosphere there and did not wanted to stay longer.
If you are in Nelson, Check the pub The Royal, that have cheaper, bigger and more confortable rooms (the kitchen is quite small, but you can't have everything!) and the owners are just so nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CnCaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is definitely right in the centre of town which is great and it's quite cheap as well. The facilities are definitely not fantastic, the lodge is a bit downtrodden, but will definitely work in a pinch and is good because it's cheap. Free breakfast was also really nice and I met fantastic people here so I can't complain. Ah there was a bit of loud music from a nearby club when I was trying to sleep which was a pain.

Room Tip: Stayed in the all girls dorm! Fun times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights. The rooms are large and bright, but could be cleaner. There aren't enough bathrooms/showers. There's supposed to be a shower area for women only but anyone who wanted to seemed to be using it; probably a consequence of there not being enough in the other area. The man who runs it is nice and friendly, and the location is very central, less than 5 minutes walk from the bus depot where the buses stop. The biggest annoyance is the noise - there seemed to be people living there on a long term basis and one such person had a television (or was watching from a PC as rooms do not come with TV), which was very loud and listened to it throughout the whole day and night. Another noise issue is that some rooms are by a veranda/balcony where guests gather, smoking, talking and making noise until all hours. As the windows look out onto the balcony, you do not want to open your window. I would stay elswhere if I were back in Nelson.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the veranda/balcony where all the smokers gather and make lots of noise at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelantan, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked a dorm room at this backpacker. Aurora backpacker is small so does the kitchen etc.

it is not far from the place where I am going to take my bus . The location is strategic at the centre of town not far from shops.

the receptionist (can't remember his name" was friendly and treat me and my friend warmly . but one accident happens where my roommate was drunk and she makes rude remarks.

the room is very small not really comfortable . but the hospitality is great. the receptionist tells us how to get to the centre of NZ.

overall if comfort is ur biggest priority, u may have to rethink if u want to choose dorm room as u might bumped into a drunk roommate .

but the receptionist was nice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keadilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I ended up here at the suggestion of the desk attendant at the YHA in Nelson. I hadn’t booked in advance and every place I tried had been full. I went to Aurora and got the last bed - a six-bed female only dorm. My room had a wardrobe and two dressers, which was helpful for six girls to find space for their things. The facilities were fairly clean and they provided a free cereal breakfast in the mornings. For the most part it was quiet, except for the smoking crowd on a second-floor deck. The first shower I had was quite cold, as I had missed the sign on the back of the door (where I hung my towel) that told how to obtain hot water - turn on shower, go to sink and run hot water there, then return to shower - until I got out after a cold water shampoo. The next shower worked a lot better.

The staff was quite helpful and friendly. It turned out my room was overbooked by one, so the last person in ended up with her own room as a result of the confusion. There is an internet café downstairs and guests get a half-price discount. The location is right in town, making it a close walk to most anything you’re looking for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surf207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 mi away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Downtown Backpackers & Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
0.2 mi away
Quest Nelson
Quest Nelson
#6 of 42 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waimarie on Riverside Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Backpackers

Property: Aurora Backpackers
Address: 163 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand (Formerly Retreat Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Backpackers/Hostel in sunny Nelson, newly renovated formally known as the "Retreat" and "Central" backpackers. We have 14 rooms available in our central city location. Wi-Fi is available in every room at discounted rates and we have a well equipped communal kitchen, TV room and book swap. The complimentary cereal breakfast is a must for any wary traveller to set you up for the days adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Aurora Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing